Skip to Main Content
Federal Statistical Agencies
The U.S. government is one of the largest publishers in the world. Federal, state and local governments maintain websites full of useful information on a variety of topics. Find data and analysis from U.S. publications in the links below:
Searches over 40 databases and 2,000 websites, offering millions of pages of authoritative U.S. government science information, including research and development results.
Defense Technical Information. Many full-text technical reports from the Defense Technical Information Center.
DOE EnergyCitations Database
Search bibliographic records for energy and energy-related scientific and technical information from the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies from 1948 forward.
DOE Information Bridge
The Department of Energy database containing full text for Department of Energy (DOE) sponsored scientific and technical reports back to the early 1990s
Energy Information Administration
Collects energy related statistics
From the Environmental Protection Agency: "This site is a single place to find a vast selection of EPA data sources, organized into topics such as air and water that are in easily downloadable formats."
NASA Technical Reports Server
The NTRS has been a valuable resource for students, educators, researchers, and the public for access to NASA's current and historical technical literature since it was first released in 1994.
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
Browse the pages on NOAA to find information: "federal agency focused on the condition of the oceans and the atmosphere".
Contains citations to unclassified reports from U.S. and international government agencies such as NASA, the Department of Energy, and the Department of Defense
NSCEP/NEPIS - EPA's Gateway to Free Digital & Paper Publications
This site is EPA’s premier site for accessing EPA publications, with more than 7,000 in stock and 31,000 digital titles, free of charge.
TRAIL Technical Report Archive & Image Library
The Technical Report Archive & Image Library (TRAIL) is an initiative led by the University of Arizona in collaboration with CRL and other interested agencies to identify, digitize, archive, and provide access to federal technical reports issued prior to 1975.
U.S. Geologic Survey
"Federal source for science about the Earth, its natural and living resources, natural hazards, and the environment"
Central Intelligence Agency: CIA
The Central Intelligence Agency is the U.S. Government's primary foreign intelligence gathering and analysis agency.
Commission on the Roles and Capabilities of the U.S. Intelligence Community
The Commission on the Roles and Capabilities of the U.S. Intelligence Community is a congressionally appointed commission. It was created in 1990s and makes recommendations on desirable intelligence agency reforms.
Congressional Research Service Reports
Read the full-text of publicly available research reports prepared by experts for members of Congress Hosted by the Federation of American Scientists
Defense Intelligence Agency
The Defense Intelligence Agency provides foreign military intelligence for U.S. warfighters and policymakers.
Foreign Assistance Statistics
"The Foreign Assistance Dashboard provides a view of U.S. Government foreign assistance funds and enables users to examine, research, and track aid investments in a standard and easy-to-understand format."
The Homeland Security Digital Library
HSDL is the nation's premier research collection of open-source resources related to homeland security policy, strategy and organizational management. The HSDL is sponsored by the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense.
US. Department of State
Official webpage of the State Department. Lots of current information on activities of the state department, including counter-terrorism.
U.S. Department of State: History
Compiled by the Historian of the U.S. State Department, this link provides an overview of the State Department. Find information about Secretaries of State, information by diplomatic era,
Budget of the U.S. Government
Broken down by fiscal year: "Issued by the Office of Management and Budget (OMB), the Budget of the United States Government is a collection of documents that contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications that have been issued throughout the fiscal year."
Bureau of Economic Analysis
Commerce Dept. agency documenting U.S. economic performance
Bureau of Economic, Energy, and Business Affairs
Part of the State Department, the EEB focuses on economic policy.
Economics and Statistics Administration
Goucher College Library, 1021 Dulaney Valley Road, Baltimore, MD 21204 • 410-337-6360 • © 2013-2017 •
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.