Statistical Abstract of the United States from the U.S. Census Bureau, compiles statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States from 1889 through 2011, plus historical supplements from 1789.
Provides historical census data and demographic information through appealing maps and reports which make it easy to visually analyze and understand demography and social change throughout history.
This collection of books, broadsides, and pamphlets spans the nearly 400-year arc of the fight for freedom and equality, an unparalleled record of African American history, literature, and culture. The content in this database is based on the Library Company of Philadelphia’s Afro-American Collection.
Full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, and multimedia providing contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History.
Content from over 1,500 print and manuscript directories, member lists, travel guides and other sources, chronicling the people and organizations of New York City from the late 18th through the early 20th century.
"A digital record of American history and creativity" expressed in written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music.
A comprehensive collection of periodicals detailing American history and culture from the mid-18th century through the late-19th century. Contents cover advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more.
Digitized primary materials that offer Southern perspectives on American history and culture. Sponsored by the University Library at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Early American Imprints, Series I and IIFull-text of virtually every book, pamphlet and broadside published in America from 1639 to 1819. Includes almanacs, cookbooks, diaries, textbooks, advertisements, contracts, charters, legislation, treaties, poems, songs, plays, the Bible, sermons, eulogies, and much more.
Includes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions.
This collection of books, broadsides, and pamphlets spans the nearly 400-year arc of the fight for freedom and equality, an unparalleled record of African American history, literature, and culture. The content in this database is based on the Library Company of Philadelphia’s Afro-American Collection.
A collection of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery.
Scholarly journals, magazines, and reports with content in key subject areas including governmental policies, the socioeconomic effects of war, the structure of the armed forces, and more.
Comprehensive historical and current coverage of issues in government, law and politics. Includes over 2,500 journals, the entire Congressional Record , constitutions for all countries in the world, all United States Treaties, the Federal Register, U.S. Supreme Court and Presidential libraries, and more.
Unique collections of documentary materials on U.S. foreign policy issues collected and indexed by journalists and scholars at George Washington University to check rising government secrecy.
An archive of digitized primary documents focus on the history of Latin America and the Caribbean back to the early 1800s through the contemporary period sourced from collections in the U.S. and abroad.
An ambitious effort by an international collaboration of scholars to see the world whole, c. 500 to 1500 CE, to deliver the stories of lives, objects, and actions in dynamic relationship and change across deep time.
