Skip to Main Content
READING THE NEWS AT THE WEAVERS' COTTAGE by Adriaen van Ostade
Early American newspapers and other primary sources in history, including Godey's Lady's Book, the Pennsylvania Gazette, the Civil War collection, the Lily, Women's Suffrage, and more.
American Periodical Series This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 1,100 historically significant periodicals that began publishing between 1740 and 1900,
America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1900
Full text articles from early American newspapers; searchable by presidential era, place of publication, language, and type of article, such as editorial, advertisements, birth and death notices, and cartoons.
Baltimore Sun current and historic
Full text of articles appearing in the Baltimore Sun from 1837 to the present.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1860-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
The electronic version of Harper’s Weekly, America's leading 19th century illustrated newspaper.
New York Times Digital
Access to full content at NYTimes.com and all of its features, on any device. Unlimited access to articles published from 1851 through 1922, and from 1981 through current day. Access to the years 1923-1980 is limited to 5 articles per person per day.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
Features full-text and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. from the 19th century. Strong coverage of the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life..
Reveal Digital Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
Collection of alternative press newspapers and magazines produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
Times Digital Archive 1785-2014 Archive
The Times (London) is one of the most preeminent global newspapers of the 18th century through the early 21st century, covering international events, people, places, politics, business news, opinion and debate, entertainment, and advertising.
African American Newspapers
Baltimore Afro-American Historical This link opens in a new window
Archive of the Afro-American and Afro-American Ledger newspapers from 1893 to 1988.
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
Over 270 U.S. newspapers from more than 35 states chronicling the African American experience. Includes many rare and historically significant 19th century titles.
African American Periodicals, 1825-1995
Explore crucial facets of the African American experience through more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals, including political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, annual reports and other genres.
Goucher College Library, 1021 Dulaney Valley Road, Baltimore, MD 21204 • 410-337-6360 • © 2013-2017 •
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.