A multidisciplinary database with citations to popular and scholarly journal articles with abstracts. Excellent for finding eduation-related articles outside the standard educational journals. Many full text articles or links to full text articles in other databases.
Full text from academic journals, ebooks and other publications covering the literature on primary, secondary, and higher education, and other related topics.
Data comes from something that the author experienced, i.e. observation or measurement
Includes specific research questions to be answered
Definition of the population, behavior, or phenomena to be studied
Description of a process used to study a population or phenomena, including selection criteria, controls, and testing instruments
Look for the "IMRaD" format:
Introduction
Often includes a Literature Review: What is currently known about the topic -- usually includes a theoretical framework and/or discussion of previous studies
Methodology: sometimes called "research design" -- how to recreate the study -- usually describes the population, research process, and analytical tools
Results: sometimes called "findings" -- what was learned through the study -- usually appears as statistical data or as substantial quotations from research participants
Discussion: sometimes called "conclusion" or "implications" -- why the study is important -- usually describes how the research results influence professional practices or future studies
Qualities of Primary Research
The article reports on a study conducted by the authors writing the article.
May include a lit review, but cannot only be a literature review article
