Skip to Main Content
Dictionary of American Regional English This link opens in a new window
DARE includes "words, phrases, and pronunciations that vary from one place to another" with audio clips, quotations, and an interactive map.
more... less... Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
The OED traces the usage of words from their first recorded occurrence to the modern period through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international language sources.
On Writing Well by William Zinsser
Call Number: 808.042 Z78o 2006
Publication Date: 2016
Warns against common errors in structure, style, and diction, and explains the fundamentals of conducting interviews and writing travel, scientific, sports, critical, and humorous articles
Literature Online (LION)
One source for over 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, plus full-text criticism in 430 journals and other key reference resources.
Films and Drama
Film Scripts Online
Full text of 1100 scripts by 1,062 writers together with detailed, fielded information on the scenes, characters and people related to the scripts.
Black Drama: 1850 to present, second edition. This link opens in a new window
Contains the full text of more than 1,460 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 250 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries.
IMDB: Internet Movie Database
Comprehensive information on films and television, includes reviews by users and those published in newspapers and magazines.
Film Literature Index
Contains approximately 700,000 citations to articles, film reviews and book reviews published between 1976-2001.
Fine Arts (Gale OneFile)
Scholarly journals and magazines that support research in areas including drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.
Documenting the American South
Digitized primary materials that offer Southern perspectives on American history and culture. Sponsored by the University Library at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Goucher College Library, 1021 Dulaney Valley Road, Baltimore, MD 21204 • 410-337-6360 • © 2013-2017 •
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.