Women, Gender, and Sexuality

This guide was created by A.J. Muhammad, Librarian at the Shomburg Center for Research in Black Culture serves as an introduction to Black women's involvement in social justice causes around Black liberation and gender equality. A fantastic resource for those studying Black Feminism.

A gateway to Library of Congress Resources for the Study of Women’s History and Culture in the United States and part of American Memory.

The University of Wisconsin brings together, in digital form, primary and secondary materials relating to the the exploration of politics, history, and society from a transnational and multicultural women's perspective. Although this collection is still in its infancy, future additions may include archival as well as published materials and may be drawn from a variety of formats: books, manuscripts, prints, photographs, audio and video, and more.

This website is home to the world's largest collection of materials by and about lesbians and their communities. Herstories: A Digital Collection contains digitizations of a small number of the 3,000 oral history cassettes in the Archives' collection.

This is the oldest active Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, Questioning (LGBTQ) organization in the United States and the largest repository of LGBTQ materials in the world. Founded in 1952, ONE Archives currently houses over two million archival items including periodicals, books, film, video and audio recordings, photographs, artworks, organizational records and personal papers. Part of the University of Southern California Libraries.

Documents the lives of women of the past and present for the future. The library holds letters and diaries, photographs, books and periodicals, ephemera, oral histories, and audiovisual materials that document the history of women, families, and organizations, primarily in the 19th and 20th centuries. It is also home to an extensive culinary collection and the Radcliffe Archives.

As part of the New York Public Library and home to the largest of collection of artifacts that recognize the social, cultural and artistic accomplishments of LGBTQ people in the black community.

The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.