Research Guides: Women, Gender, and Sexuality: Get Started

Start Here

GenderWatch
Full text data base dealing with women and gender, 1970-
SocIndex with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of sociology and all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.
Congressional and Executive Base
Profiles, voting records, campaign finance data and more on members of Congress, details of legislation, Congressional committees, and political news.
ScienceDirect
titles indexed include Women's Studies International Forum

Women Writers in Context
A new, experimental publication series from the Brown University Women Writers Project that presents “exhibits” designed to engage readers in the exploration and discovery of topics related to early modern women's writing. The series accompanies their Women Writers Online collection, providing both a point of entry and a set of topical orientations. The “exhibits” afford opportunities for scholars to experiment with forms of scholarly publication, combining aspects of traditional written argumentation with more interactive multimedia content.

When browsing the Library's main collection you can find the following subject areas at the listed call numbers:

psychology, logic, and ethics: 150s-170s
sociology and anthropology: 301s
people by gender or sex, economic classes, national and ethnic groups, and social statuses: 305s
specific aspects of culture, sexual relations, and marriage and family: 306s
civil and political rights: 323s
literature: 800s
history: 930s-990s

Accessible Archives
Early American newspapers and other primary sources in history, including Godey's Lady's Book, the Pennsylvania Gazette, the Civil War collection, the Lily, Women's Suffrage, and more.
Women and Social Movements in the United States
Archival document collections covering women's activism throughout US history, including papers of prominent organizations and individuals.
Social and Cultural History: Letters and Diaries
Primary source database of letters, diaries, and oral histories dating from 1675 to the present. Includes these subject collections, which may be searched individually using these links:
American Civil War: Letters and Diaries
Black Thought and Culture
British and Irish Women’s Letters and Diaries
Manuscript Women’s Letters and Diaries
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories
North American Women’s Letters and Diaries