Research Guides: Non-profit and Cultural Institution Management : Library Resources

Databases to Investigate

Databases serve different purposes. CQ Researcher and National Newspapers are great spaces to get started with hotbed topics and trends; Academic Search Premier, JSTOR, and Gale provide academic perspectives; Congressional and Executive Base offer policy and advocacy talking points; and Statista is a go-to for current statistics and data.

Remember to start with a set of clear questions you're looking to answer, and a list of relevant keywords to help guide your search!

FIND CURRENT ISSUES AND TRENDS

National Newspapers
Full text of the Baltimore Sun, Christian Science Monitor, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post, from the 1980s to the present.
CQ Researcher
Comprehensive reports and analyses on controversial issues in the areas including health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.

FIND ACADEMIC/ SCHOLARLY PERSPECTIVES

Academic Search Premier
Multidisciplinary - good for nearly all subjects. Scholarly and trade journals, popular magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings, book reviews, and more.
Power Search (Gale)
PowerSearch gives access to several databases from Gale Cengage, allowing simultaneously searching through thousands of sources.
JSTOR
Full text scholarly articles and ebooks in all disciplines.

FIND GOVERNMENT POLICIES, LAWS, INITIATIVES

Congressional and Executive Base
Profiles, voting records, campaign finance data and more on members of Congress, details of legislation, Congressional committees, and political news.
State Legislatures Internet Links
A database of information on the legislatures, statutes and issues from all fifty states , DC and U.S. territories from the NCSL, "the nation's most respected bipartisan organization providing states support, ideas, connections and a strong voice on Capitol Hill."
Govinfo
Govinfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.

Govinfo replace its predecessor, GPO’s Federal Digital System (FDsys).

FIND STATISTICS AND PROJECTIONS

Statista
Contains statistical data on over 600 international industries from more than 18,000 sources, including market researchers, trade organizations, scientific journals, and government databases.
World Bank Open Data
"Free and open access to global development data"
UNdata
Search 32 databases of the UN on employment, education, energy, environment, health, population, refugees, and more.