Skip to Main Content
Internet sites for streaming video
African American Home Movie Archive
An online resource for researchers, educators, students, archive and library professionals, contains an aggregate of African American home movie collections from the early 1920s through the mid-1980s.
American Archive of Public Broadcasting
The Library of Congress and WGBH in Boston collaborate to preserve for posterity the most significant public television and radio programs of the past 60 years, including over 7,000 historic public radio and television programs.
Complete episodes of selected films from the acclaimed PBS documentary series
American Indian Film Gallery
The AIFG presently contains over 450 non-fiction films that document Native lifeways from the Arctic Circle to Tierra del Fuego, with a large concentration on peoples of the Southwest
Database of and index to 5000+ full text, audio and video versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, and more.
Anime streaming sources online
You can stream anime on this platform thanks to embeds provided to the public by various legal anime streaming services.
Educational video programs – with coordinated online and print materials – for the professional development of K-12 teachers, students and others.
BBC Archives manages one of the world's largest multimedia archives. Our mission is to preserve content so that it can be re-used. Our vision is to have an open archive, fit for a digital world.
C-SPAN Video Library
Contains all C-SPAN programs since 1987, indexed, abstracted, and cataloged by the C-SPAN Archives staff.
Civil Rights Digital Library
Primary sources, films and other educational materials from libraries, archives, museums, public broadcasters, and others on a national scale.
Digital Moving Image Collections
Several hundred early motion pictures from the Library of Congress digital collectionsl
A multimedia search tool provided by the Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Scientific and Technical Information. Uses innovative, state-of-the-art audio indexing and speech recognition technology from IBM Watson to quickly find video and audio files.
EVIA Digital Archive
Collections of ethnographic field videos featuring music, dance, theater performances worldwide.
Streams hard-to-find documentary films about American folk-culture.
A project of the Monterey Institute for Technology and Education (MITE), HippoCampus provides high-quality, multimedia content on general education subjects for K-12 and college instruction.
International Monetary Fund Videos
Over 1,000 short videos on countries and regions, economic outlook, speeches and Interviews, topics and issues
Interviews - Television Academy Foundation
Hundreds of in-depth video interviews with TV's greatest legends and pioneers.
A family foundation dedicated to cultural freedom, diversity and creativity through projects which support exceptional contemporary artists and writers, as well as inspired Native activists in rural indigenous communities. Their event archive offers free audio and video content.
Metropolitan Museum of Art
About 1500 videos and clips about the Met's works of art.
Minnesota Video Vault
The Vault contains hundreds of programs from the Twin Cities Public Television.archives: classic interviews, performances, and more.
Moving Image Archive
Digital movies uploaded by Internet Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.
National Film Board of Canada
The National Film Board of Canada's award-winning online Screening Room,including documentaries, animations, experimental films, fiction and interactive works..
PBS's always free to stream platform specifically for educators. Find videos by subject, grade, or standards.
Provides access to selected programs from selected PBS series (such as Nature, American Experience, Nova, and Frontline, among others.)
Snagfilms - Philanthropic Movies and TV Shows online
SnagFilms has over 2,000 movies, TV show episodes, eye-opening documentaries and exclusive original comedy shorts.
TED: Technology, Entertainment, Design
The best talks and performances from TED and partners. All of the talks feature closed captions in English, and many feature subtitles in various languages. Videos are released under a Creative Commons license, so they can be freely shared and reposted.
Thanhouser Films Online
Freely available collection of historic silent films from 1910 to 1917.
TV News Internet Archive
Designed for journalists, scholars, teachers, librarians, civic organizations and other engaged citizens, it repurposes closed captioning to enable users to search, quote and borrow U.S. TV news programs.
WGBH Open Vault
Online access to unique and historically important content produced by the public television and radio station WGBH. Open Vault contains video, audio, images, searchable transcripts, and resource management tools.
Probably the best known of all steaming video sites, YouTube is a subsidiary of Google. Most of the content has been uploaded by individuals, but some media corporations including CBS, the BBC, and other organizations offer some of their material via the site.
Goucher College Library, 1021 Dulaney Valley Road, Baltimore, MD 21204 • 410-337-6360 • © 2013-2017 •
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.