"This is an encyclopedic dictionary of close to 400 important philosophical, literary, and political terms and concepts that defy easy--or any--translation from one language and culture to another. Drawn from more than a dozen languages, terms such as Dasein (German), pravda (Russian), saudade (Portuguese), and stato (Italian) are thoroughly examined in all their cross-linguistic and cross-cultural complexities."
Covers important authors and movements in Continental Philosophy, beginning with the founding texts of Classical Idealism and concluding with Post-structuralism.
Articles on major and minor figures and on topics of importance to the philosophy of Greek and Roman antiquity. Topical articles survey areas traditional to philosophy, such as epistemology, ethics, philosophy of mind, and political thought.
founded in 1995 to provide open access to detailed, scholarly, peer-reviewed information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy written by philosophers from a wide variety of countries.
The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy organizes scholars from around the world in philosophy and related disciplines to create and maintain an up-to-date reference work.
"Background Information to Start Your Research," a collection of hundreds of reference books on a broad range of subjects from over 70 of the world's leading academic publishers.
Premiere U.S. organization for professional philosophers; offers guide to websites of other professional associations dedicated to themes and philosophers.
"This web site, davidhume.org, aims to provide a free and open access collection of almost everything written by the great Enlightenment thinker, David Hume, alongside bibliographies and links to Hume scholarship on the web. It is being developed by Peter Millican and Amyas Merivale, at Hertford College, University of Oxford."
OLL hosts "...electronic versions of classic books about individual liberty... These texts go back some 4,000 years and cover the disciplines of economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, political theory, religion, war and peace."
PhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. We monitor all sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, and open access archives.
"Project Vox seeks to recover the lost voices of women who have been ignored in standard narratives of the history of modern philosophy. We aim to change those narratives, thereby changing what students around the world learn about philosophy’s history."
A free podcast dedicating to providing beginner-friendly educational philosophy discussions in chronological order. Full transcripts of podcasts are also available.
LearnOutLoud.com features audio renditions of classic philosophy from such greats as Socrates, Plato, Aristotle, Descartes, Nietzsche and much more." Free downloadable versions of classic texts.
"Philosophy Talk is a weekly, one-hour radio series... [the hosts'] down-to-earth and no-nonsense approach brings the richness of philosophic thought to everyday subjects...lofty...arresting...and engaging."
