Finding articles through WorldCat Discovery is just as easy as finding books through that database. However, finding the right article for your research can be challenging. The video above provides an overview on how to use WorldCat Discovery to search for articles and it includes some tips to help you in your search.
If you need any research assistance, please reach out to the library. Email: library@goucher.edu. You can also schedule a research appointment. Link below.
The library has access to several newspaper sources. The Baltimore Banner and The New York Times can be accessed directly on their websites once an account is created. Below are the list of newspaper sources and instructions on how to access The New York Times and The Baltimore Banner.
What is Google? Google is a search engine. The information it provides is not organized in a specific way and most of the results from the first page are determined by popular searches or the virtual profile created from your search history.
What is a database? A database is an electronic filing system. It organizes information in a specific way that requires users to use specific keywords and search terms to find information. Databases can be subject-specific and include search filters to help narrow the results.
Does this mean Google is bad? Absolutely NOT. Google is a fast and more accessible resource which is why it is more widely used. However, it will take more skills and time to find information from a reputable source. As a librarian, I often use Google when helping students formulate a research topic, get background information, and find current events relevant to their research topic.
The library's databases are more useful for academic research and include search features that will help narrow your results. With databases, you can search by subject, author, publication, and keyword all at once. For Google, even the advanced search feature and Google Scholar are very limited in that regard. Additionally, the kinds of sources that your instructor requires (mainly scholarly sources) are not easily accessible. They cost money and being a student here at Goucher College means you have free access to those sources. Google is not bad, and you do not need to use the databases exclusively. In fact, I encourage you to use both throughout your research process.
Use Google Scholar to begin your search for scholarly resources. Google Scholar covers a large proportion of scholarly literature including: academic journals, books, institutional repositories, preprints, case law, patents, and dissertations. You can set alerts to stay up-to-date on the latest literature, access sources through the Goucher Library, and track citations. For more details, read their About page.
Connect Google Scholar to Goucher Library to automatically access library resources from off campus. Follow the steps below and/or watch the video to connect the Google Scholar to the Goucher Library.
From Google Scholar, select the three bar menu icon in the upper left corner of the webpage. 
Look for the Settings link or gear icon and select. 
Select Library Links.
Type "Goucher College" in the search box. Hit enter or click the magnifying glass icon. 
Check the boxes for all Goucher College options.
Select Save.
The next time you search in Google Scholar, if an item is available through Goucher, it will show you a selectable link to Full text@Goucher Library.
Goucher College Library, 1021 Dulaney Valley Road, Baltimore, MD 21204 • 410-337-6360 • © 2013-2017 • 
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.