Research Guides: Peace Studies 205: Suggested Resources

Goucher databases

The library provides access to the following databases which are relevant to Peace Studies 205 assignments. Remember, this is only a partial listing of databases accessible through the A-Z database listing. If you wish to find books and more materials you can try our WorldCat Discovery Search.

Accessible Archives Early American newspapers and other primary sources in history, including Godey's Lady's Book, the Pennsylvania Gazette, the Civil War collection, the Lily, Women's Suffrage, and more.
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 Over 270 U.S. newspapers from more than 35 states chronicling the African American experience. Includes many rare and historically significant 19th century titles.
African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 Explore crucial facets of the African American experience through more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals, including political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, annual reports and other genres.
Afro-Americana Imprints, 1535-1922 This collection of books, broadsides, and pamphlets spans the nearly 400-year arc of the fight for freedom and equality, an unparalleled record of African American history, literature, and culture. The content in this database is based on the Library Company of Philadelphia’s Afro-American Collection.
America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1900 Full text articles from early American newspapers; searchable by presidential era, place of publication, language, and type of article, such as editorial, advertisements, birth and death notices, and cartoons.
American Periodical Series This link opens in a new window Full text of over 1,100 historically significant periodicals that began publishing between 1740 and 1900,
Black Drama: 1850 to present This link opens in a new window Contains the full text of more than 1,700 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries.
Civil War Primary Source Documents This unique archive captures various accounts of the Civil War as it was experienced on land and at sea.
Early American Imprints, Series I and II Full-text of virtually every book, pamphlet and broadside published in America from 1639 to 1819. Includes almanacs, cookbooks, diaries, textbooks, advertisements, contracts, charters, legislation, treaties, poems, songs, plays, the Bible, sermons, eulogies, and much more.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center ) The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) is an online bibliographic and full-text digital library of education research, including journal articles and non-journal materials. Includes both peer-reviewed, full-text sources and and relevant non-peer-reviewed, full-text material from sources such as think tanks, institutional repositories, and research organizations.
European Views of the Americas, 1492-1750 Index of printed works about the Americas authored in Europe pre-1750.
Harp Week The electronic version of Harper’s Weekly, America's leading 19th century illustrated newspaper.
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture and Law A collection of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Full text scholarly articles and ebooks in all disciplines.
Women and Social Movements in the United States Archival document collections covering women's activism throughout US history, including papers of prominent organizations and individuals.

SC&A listing aggregated by vendor
This guide has aggregated some of the primary source databases by vendor. Many vendors will allow searching across several of their databases at once.

Newspapers

Baltimore Sun current and historic Full text of articles appearing in the Baltimore Sun from 1837 to the present.
Baltimore Afro-American Historical This link opens in a new window Archive of the Afro-American and Afro-American Ledger newspapers from 1893 to 1988.

Digital Collections

Library of Congress - American Memory

Behind The Veil: Documenting African American Life in the Jim Crow South
A selection of 410 recorded oral history interviews chronicling African-American life during the age of legal segregation in the American South, from the 1890s to the 1950s.
Cornell University Library Making of America Collection
Digital Library on American Slavery
Data on race and slavery extracted from eighteenth and nineteenth-century documents, including 2,975 legislative petitions, 14,512 county court petitions, wills, inventories, deeds, bills of sale, and more.
Lost Friends
Slavery and Abolition in the U.S.: Select Publications of the 1800s
Books and pamphlets that demonstrate the varying ideas about slavery as expressed by Americans throughout the nineteenth century. From Millersville University and Dickinson College Libraries.

Umbra

Umbra: Search African American History (umbrasearch.org) “…brings together content documenting African American history and culture in order to enable the creation of new works—research projects, scholarship, curricula, art of all kinds—that illuminate parts of our history that have not been enough broadly accessible.” Over 400,000 digital items from over 500 institutions.

Digital Public Library of America

DPLA
The Digital Public Library of America offers a single point of access to millions of items—photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more—from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States. Users can browse and search the collections by timeline, map, format, and topic; save items to customized lists; and share their lists with others.

Archive Grid

ArchiveGrid includes over four million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. With over 1,000 different archival institutions represented, ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.