A comprehensive collection of periodicals detailing American history and culture from the mid-18th century through the late-19th century. Contents cover advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more.
MasterFILE Premier contains full text for thousands of general reference magazines and publications and covers a wide-range of subject areas including business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more.
READEX - Historical Newspapers
(LCP - Library Company of Philadelphia; AAS - American Antiquarian Society)
Explore crucial facets of the African American experience through more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals, including political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, annual reports and other genres.
Full text articles from early American newspapers; searchable by presidential era, place of publication, language, and type of article, such as editorial, advertisements, birth and death notices, and cartoons.
READEX - Early American Imprints
--Includes a decent "Browse" feature for exploring pre-designated names/topics in Genre, Subjects, Author, Place of Publication, History of Printing, Language.
--To search multiple collections, go to the upper-right corner of the screen and select "Searching."
Full-text of virtually every book, pamphlet and broadside published in America from 1639 to 1819. Includes almanacs, cookbooks, diaries, textbooks, advertisements, contracts, charters, legislation, treaties, poems, songs, plays, the Bible, sermons, eulogies, and much more.
Afro-Americana Imprints includes:
Afro-Americana Imprints, 1535-1922 (LCP)
American Slavery Collection, 1820-1922 (AAS) - 3,500 printed works, includes books, pamphlets, graphic materials, and ephemera
Early American Imprints I and II includes:
Series I: Evans, 1639-1830 - 50,000 books, pamphlets, broadsides published in America, based on Charles Evans' bibliography
Series I: Evans Supplement 1670-1800 (LCP) - over 1,000 more recently discovered works printed in America
Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819 - 36,000 books, pamphlets, broadsides published in America, based on bibliography by R. Shaw and R. Shoemaker.
Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819 (LCP) - over 1,000 more recently discovered works
Full text of over 1,100 historically significant periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children’s and women’s magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals.
Features full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life, among other subjects.
Sabin Americana, 1500–1926 is an online collection of books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s. Includes original accounts of discovery and exploration, pioneering and westward expansion, the U.S. Civil War and other military actions, Native Americans, slavery and abolition, religious history and more.
Over 180,000 titles, including books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more. Based on the English Short Title Catalogue, works published in the UK during the 18th century plus thousands from elsewhere.
The Times (London) is one of the most preeminent, global daily (except Sundays) newspapers of the 18th century through the early 21st century, covering international events, people, places, politics, business news, opinion and debate, entertainment, and advertising. The Times Digital Archive contains every page of every issue of this publication as a fully-searchable, easy-to-navigate online resource
The years of coverage available in your library's subscription appears on the product banner.