Research Guides: Communication and Media: Find Resources

Start Here

Access World News
Comprehensive collection of reliable full-text newspapers, including most major, local and regional U.S. newspapers and thousands of international news sources; includes searchable news video clips.
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource for communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study.
Alt-Press Watch
Full text coverage of alternative and independent magazines and newspapers. Full text coverage of alternative and independent magazines and newspapers.
Ethnic NewsWatch
News, culture, and history from publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. News, culture, and history from publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press.
GenderWatch
Forty years of publications sensitive to gender issues including media portrayals of such. Forty years of publications sensitive to gender issues including media portrayals of such.
Academic Video Online Premium
Video subscription delivering 80,000+ titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Video Interaction Functionality will connect library content to the classroom and enhance student engagement for faculty by offering meaningful ways to leverage streaming video for collaboration, reflection, and assessment.

Communication and Media Studies Assocations

International Association for Media and Communication Research
IAMCR is the preeminent worldwide professional organization in the field of media and communication research. IAMCR aims to support and develop media and communication research throughout the world. It particularly encourages the participation of emerging scholars, women and those from economically disadvantaged regions.
American Communication Association
ACA was created to promote academic and professional research, criticism, teaching, practical use, and exchange of principles and theories of human communication.
International Communication Association
International association for scholars interested in all aspects of mediated communication. Organization began more than 50 years ago and now boasts a membership of over 3,500 members from 65 countries.
Association for Women in Communications
AWC is a professional organization that champions the advancement of women across all communications disciplines by recognizing excellence, promoting leadership and positioning its members at the forefront of the evolving communications era.
National Association of Black Journalists
The National Association of Black Journalists (NABJ) is a 501(c)3 nonprofit organization that provides innovative, quality programs and services to its members. The organization advocates on behalf of Black journalists and media professionals in the U.S. and worldwide.
National Association of Hispanic Journalists
The National Association of Hispanic Journalists (NAHJ) is dedicated to the recognition and professional advancement of Hispanics in the news industry.
National Communication Association
The National Communication Association advances communication as the discipline that studies all forms, modes, media and consequences of communication through humanistic, social scientific and aesthetic inquiry.
Association for Media and Publishing
Association Media & Publishing (AM&P) is the only organization dedicated to the needs of print and digital publishers in nonprofit organizations. AM&P also serves association business operations executives, communication professionals, designers, editors, and content creators, and the media they create.

Communication & Media Studies Fields

IMDb
IMDb is the world's most popular and authoritative source for movie, TV and celebrity content.
New York Times Movie Reviews
The New York Times Movie Reviews by film critics.

Film Scripts Online
Full text of 1100 scripts by 1,062 writers together with detailed, fielded information on the scenes, characters and people related to the scripts.

American Film Institute Catalog
The AFI Catalog of Feature Films is a comprehensive chronicle of the first century of American cinema.
more...less...
AFI Catalog of Feature Films was the first-ever scholarly listing of American films, with academically vetted information about the existence, availability and sources of motion pictures already produced, spanning the entirety of the art form since 1893.
Journal of Popular Film and Television
The Journal of Popular Film and Television provides a representative cross section of critical-cultural perspectives and to broaden the existing literature to include the “public visions” of popular filmmakers and television showrunners, economic and industrial factors, and an emphasis on the complex role of audiences in the development of film and television as art forms and wide-reaching sociocultural forces.

National Newspapers
Full text of the Baltimore Sun, Christian Science Monitor, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post, from the 1980s to the present.
Google News Archive
Index to digitized historical newspapers, worldwide with North American focus.
Access World News
Comprehensive collection of reliable full-text newspapers, including most major, local and regional U.S. newspapers and thousands of international news sources; includes searchable news video clips.

American Journalism Review
The American Journalism Review contains original reporting, commentary and smart aggregation on the news media.
Journalist's Resource: Knowledge-based Reporting
The Journalist’s Resource examine public policy news topics through a research lens. Their mission is to inform the news by bridging the communications gap between academia and journalism.
Pew Research Center Journalism & Media
Pew Research Center's studies and research conducted in the journalism and media field.
Poynter.
The Poynter Institute offers news, training and job opportunities for journalists.
Journalist's Toolbox
Journalist's Toolbox contains thousands of free (and some fee-based) resources organized by beats on more than 150 searchable pages.
Nieman Reports
Nieman Reports is a website and quarterly print publication covering thought leadership in journalism.

Journal of Advertising
The Journal of Advertising is the premier journal devoted to the development of advertising theory and its relationship to practice. Article topics include advertising effectiveness, advertising ethics, global advertising issues, and methodological issues, along with the economic, political, social, and environmental aspects of advertising.
Journal of Advertising Research
The mission of the Journal of Advertising Research (JAR) is to act as the research and development vehicle for professionals in all areas of marketing including media, research, advertising and communications. It provides a forum for sharing findings, applications, new technologies and methodologies, and avenues of solution.
AdForum
Platform that allows advertisers/companies to showcase and discover the best work from the creative industry in the largest global advertising agency directory and creative Gallery.

Journal of Broadcasting & Electronic Media
Published quarterly for the Broadcast Education Association, the Journal of Broadcasting & Electronic Media presents timely research articles about new developments, trends, and innovations in electronic and digital communication to advance scholarly discoveries and real-world solutions.

Creator Academy
Free courses, tips and education for YouTube creators, provided by YouTube.
YouTube Space
Includes in-person and online resources for YouTube Creators. Online services include informative events and workshops.

Communication and Media

Contact Us

Communications and Media Studies Textbooks

Start Here

Communication and Media Studies Assocations

Communication & Media Studies Fields