Archives and Primary Sources

DARE includes "words, phrases, and pronunciations that vary from one place to another" with audio clips, quotations, and an interactive map.

Multidisciplinary work with over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.

A continuously updated bibliography of scholarly work on Latin America in the social sciences and the humanities dating from 1935 to the present. Use citations to find full text.

The OED traces the usage of words from their first recorded occurrence to the modern period through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international language sources.

A collection of encyclopedias and other ebooks on topics ranging from art to history, religion, and social sciences.

Created by the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency, the World Factbook "provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities."

Full text of the best-known, most authoritative and comprehensive encyclopedia online. Includes time lines for many subjects, videos and links to reliable sources.

Profiles, voting records, campaign finance data and more on members of Congress, details of legislation, Congressional committees, and political news.

Reports compiled by the Congressional Research Service, which provides valuable insight and non-partisan analysis of issues of public debate.

Govinfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.

Search the NCJRS Virtual Library, containing record of more than 80,000 online resources and all known Office of Justice Programs' works.

A database of information on the legislatures, statutes and issues from all fifty states , DC and U.S. territories from the NCSL, "the nation's most respected bipartisan organization providing states support, ideas, connections and a strong voice on Capitol Hill."

Statistics on food and agriculture worldwide by the Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) of the United Nations.

The standard source for the quantitative facts of American history, provides statistical data from the U.S. Census in topical and historical contexts.

Data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. Maintained by OCPSR, the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research..

Reviews of commercially available testing instruments in English in the fields of psychology, education, business, and leadership. Coverage from 1938 to the present.

Search 32 databases of the UN on employment, education, energy, environment, health, population, refugees, and more.

A rich source of high-quality information on UNESCO activities in education, natural sciences, social and human sciences, culture, communication and information.

Contains statistical data on over 600 international industries from more than 18,000 sources, including market researchers, trade organizations, scientific journals, and government databases.