Research Guides: Open Educational Resources: How to get started

OER can supplement textbooks to emphasize a lesson, support different types of learners, and make the learning content more accessible. These supplemental materials come in a variety forms and mediums:

videos
articles
learning/research guides
audio recordings (i.e. podcasts)
open license activities or lesson plans

You can also use the Goucher Library sources for some not open but free for Goucher students/faculty/staff sources.

Public libraries are also useful in providing streaming services. Enoch Pratt Free Library has access to Hoopla and Kanopy, both of which have a variety for films (feature films, TV shows, and documentaries). Students can register for online for an eCard which provides access to the library's digital resources.

Library Guides/Research Guides
A - Z Databases
For articles, e-books, videos
Enoch Pratt Free Library
Register for an library eCard.

There is a growing number of open textbooks in various disciplines for instructors to retain, reuse, revise, remix, and/or redistribute. Below are some links to help you get started.

Maryland Open Source Textbook (M.O.S.T.) Commons
The Maryland Open Source Textbook (M.O.S.T.) Commons is an online space designed to support faculty and staff in discovering materials, collaborating with colleagues, and contributing OER to improve curricula.
OpenStax
We publish high-quality, peer-reviewed, openly licensed college textbooks that are absolutely free online and low cost in print.
Open Textbook Library
Provides reviews of OER. Browse subjects to see extensive reviews that include: comprehensiveness, accuracy, relevance/longevity, clarity, consistency, modularity, organization/structure/flow, interface, grammatical errors, cultural relevance, and comments.
OER Commons
OER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources. Explore, create, and collaborate with educators around the world to improve curriculum.
Merlot
The MERLOT collection consists of tens of thousands of discipline-specific learning materials, learning exercises, and Content Builder webpages, together with associated comments, and bookmark collections, all intended to enhance the teaching experience of using a learning material.
BC Campus Open Ed
Our open textbooks are openly licensed using a Creative Commons license, and are offered in various e-book formats free of charge, or print on demand books available at cost.
Boundless OER Catalog
This catalog contains educational content originally curated by Boundless. In collaboration with the Boundless team, Lumen Learning imported these OER courses to the Lumen Platform, to ensure they remain freely available to the education community after Boundless ceased operations. Lumen maintains the Boundless content in the same condition it was provided to us, and courses may contain some formatting and accessibility issues.
Libretext
All Libretexts libraries are accessible to everyone via the internet, completely free. We believe everyone should have access to knowledge. Not only is LibreTexts always accessible online, LibreTexts is promoting assistive technologies across the entire platform.
Oasis
OASIS from SUNY Geneseo - Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 61 different sources and contains 160,717 records.
Skills Commons
Explore free and open educational resources in Workforce Development
Developed in partnership with local industries. Reviewed by subject matter experts Focused on skills businesses need today. Use the interactive Industry Wheel to locate materials that are free and open for you to use! You can also contribute to Workforce Training materials.
Writing Spaces
Textbook project for college level writing courses.
World Digital Library
WDL makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.
Open Culture
Started by an associate dean at Stanford's continuing studies program, this site brings together a curated "meta collection" of free textbooks taken from many of the other sites included in this article as well as other pockets of the web where a faculty member has put digital textbooks together for his or her courses and made them openly available. Open Culture also provides collections of free online courses, movies, audio books and other forms of education content.
MyOpenMath
MyOpenMath is designed for mathematics, providing delivery of homework, quizzes, and tests with rich mathematical content. Students can receive immediate feedback on algorithmically generated questions with numerical or algebraic expression answers. And it can do so much more, providing a full course management system, including file posting, discussion forums, and a full gradebook, all designed with mathematics in mind.
Flatworld Knowledge ($)
Textbooks are free to read online, with low-cost downloadable and print-on-demand options.
Open WA Attribution Builder
This is a tool to help you build attributions. Click the About box to learn more. As you fill out the form, the app automatically generates the attribution for you.
The Mason OER Metafinder (MOM)
Real-time federated search for OER content

OpenStax books are now available in Canvas course shells
Instructors using OpenStax will now have access to 30 course shells for the Canvas learning management system that have been embedded with OpenStax content and additional resources.

On all the content boxes in our Canvas courses, we have access to an "Open Attribution Builder" tool/app. This makes it really easy to:

Cite yourself by inserting a CC-license attribution for single pages or modules in Canvas
Plus it's a way to easily cite content from others, like YouTube videos or CC-licensed images from Flickr or Pixabay, that you have integrated into your course.

The Open Attribution Builder tool is located in the plug icon's drop-down menu in the content box editor.

Click the plug icon's drop-down menu to view the plug-in apps
If you do not see the OAB (Open Attribution Builder) shortcut already on your drop-down list, then click the blue "View All" button to scroll and select the OAB option

Basic form for the Open Attribution Builder

This content was adapted and modified from "Faculty/staff guide to Open Educational Resources (OER): OER and Canvas" by Tacoma Community College is licensed under CC BY-SA 4.0