Skip to main content

Library Information

All about the library, contact, hours, background, etc.

Meet Our Staff

 

Pamela Flinton
Interim Co-College Librarian/Associate Librarian for Research & User Services
pamela.flinton@goucher.edu/  (410) 337-6365

Pamela guides the Research and User Services activities. She conducts information literacy classes and research tool workshops, she assists students, faculty, and staff with extensive research. She is also the liaison to Centers for Natural  Sciences and Data, Mathematicla and Computational, Sciences. She also helps to keep the library environment conducive to collaborative and individual learning.  

 

Tandra Frazier
Library Services Specialist - Acquisitions, part-time
tandra.frazier@goucher.edu (410) 337-6409

Tandra is responsible for the acquisition of books and videos.  As the point person for faculty requests, she handles the receipt, cataloging and processing of new materials, thus making them discoverable in the library catalog.

Deborah Harner
Public Services & Education Archivist
deborah.harner@goucher.edu / 410-337-6075

Debbie coordinates student employee hiring and training, as well as administrative duties in Special Collections and Archives. She also creates primary source document analysis programming for classes and assists individual student research. She has an M.A. in history concentrating on nineteenth century Maryland history and slavery and has also worked in public history for over a decade.  

Liz Johns

Liz Johns
Teaching and Learning Librarian
emjohns@goucher.edu/ 410-337-6364

Liz leads the library’s teaching and learning efforts, focusing on developing a strategic and course-integrated information literacy program.  She focuses her research and work in supporting librarians in their teaching, and using innovative ways to teach students information literacy, research skills, and critical thinking.  Liz has a B.A. in history and political science, an M.S in Library Science, and is currently working on an Ed.D.  She is the liaison to the Center for Contemporary and Creative Writing and the Center for Geographies of Justice.

Thomasin LaMay
Interlibrary Loan Manager
tlamay@goucher.edu / (410) 337-6031

Thomasin oversees the Interlibrary Loan Department.  She is also responsible for Library periodicals.  Thomasin is the liaison to the Music Department.

Nancy Magnuson
College Librarian Emerita
In retirement Nancy continues her interest in the Friends of the Goucher College Library while pursuing personal writing and research projects, gardening, quilting, traveling, and lots of reading.  She is also co-manager of the Mears Fellowship for graduate studies in library science.

Tom Minnema

 

Tom Minnema
Circulation Manager
tminnema@goucher.edu / (410) 337-6356

Tom supervises the Library Service Desk and library student workers. Manages the course reserves program and assists users with billing and circulation issues.

Tara Olivero
Curator of Special Collections & Archives
tara.olivero@goucher.edu / (410) 337-6347

Tara manages the library's collections of historical, rare, valuable, fragile, and other special and primary source materials.  Tara assists classes, faculty, and individual researchers using the collections and directs the Brooke and Carol Peirce Center for Undergraduate Research in Special Collections. Students interested in working with the collections or learning more about original primary sources are encouraged to contact Tara directly. Tara also acts as the liaison to the Dance and Theatre Departments.

Kristen Shonborn
User Services Librarian
kristen.shonborn@goucher.edu / (410) 337-3289

Kristen spends most of her time helping members of the Goucher community with their research needs.  You might see her answering questions in the Learning Commons or holding workshops  elsewhere on campus.  As liaison to the graduate programs she conducts online research consultations and webinars.  She also coordinates the library's social media presence.

Barbara Snead
Interim Co-College Librarian/Associate Librarian for Collection Services
bsnead@goucher.edu / (410) 337-6366

Barbara is responsible for selection,  evaluation, and expenditures for all library materials (databases, books, journals, films). She also oversees the acquisitions, cataloging, periodicals, and interlibrary loan functions.  Barbara is the liaison to the Chemistry, Hispanic Languages, Literatures, and Cultures, Modern Languages and Literature, Physics and Astronomy departments.

Melissa Straw
Director of Conservation and Preservation
melissa.straw@goucher.edu / (410) 337-6368

Melissa oversees both preservation administration duties as well as conducts conservation bench work on general and special collections materials.  She is also responsible for digital preservation activities and is involved with the creation and daily activities of the Goucher College Digital Library. Melissa also acts as the liaison to the Business Management and Economics departments.

Kristen Welzenbach
Digital Initiatives Librarian
kristen.welzenbach@goucher.edu / (410) 337-6370

Kristen is the Systems Administrator for Library.  She manages eScholarship@Goucher (the College's Institutional Repository), the Goucher College Digital Library, and is responsible for introducing emerging technologies to Library staff and customers.  She also acts as a liaison to Africana Studies and the Education departments.

 

 

Goucher College Library, 1021 Dulaney Valley Road, Baltimore, MD 21204 • 410-337-6360 • © 2013-2017 • Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.