Physics and Astronomy

"One of the best collections of links to astronomy-related information available on the Internet. The database is maintained by the AstroWeb Consortium, a collaboration involving nine individuals at seven institutions."

Everything about the Hubble Space Telescope and its discoveries, plus resources for educators and students on astronomy and telescopes.

Links to resources on all areas of space research.

Links to many metasites, directories, databases, catalogs, e-prints, publications, people, institutions, organizations, software, reference, and miscellaneous resources. By librarians of the Physics-Astronomy-Math Division of the Special Libraries Association.

A resource for users who have a general interest in astronomical topics; maintained by the High Energy Astrophysics Science Archive Research Center (HEASARC) at NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center.

Astronomical catalogs, data archives, and imaging services (National Astronomical Observatory of Japan)

Collection of compelling HST images and information about image processing techniques.

Images about and from NASA's explorations of space.

"Provides basic data, cross-identifications, bibliography and measurements for astronomical objects outside the solar system. "

Hosted by Cornell University.

Current information on asteroids and near-earth objects.

A site for reporting and commenting upon new astronomical observations of transient sources.

"A web site for the astronomically disadvantaged"

Great resource for beginners.

Create a custom map of the whole sky for any place on Earth (free registration required)

A simple statistical web service that lets you analyze your data without the hassle of downloading or installing any software

The American Astronomical Society (AAS), established 1899, is the major organization of professional astronomers in North America.

Founded in 1889, the ASP has become the largest general astronomy society in the world, with members from over 70 nations.

ESA is an international organisation with 18 Member States. It conducts programs to find out more about Earth, its immediate space environment, the Solar System and the Universe.

The chief international organization of professional astronomers. Organizes scientific meetings, sets international standards and promotes educational activities.

"SEDS is an independent, student-based organization which promotes the exploration and development of space." The site can provide an organized pathway to start space related projects with alternatives to the usual classwork.

The global association of planetarium professionals.