A Nursery for Militant Suffragists: The History of the Women’s Suffrage Movement at Goucher College.
Thursday, February, 2nd
Hannah Spiegelman’15 ( Rhoda Dorsey Archives Fellow) and Clara Hartman’16 (Peirce Fellow) will tell the story of Goucher students who participated in the women's suffrage picketing of the White House in February, 1917. Sponsored by the Friends of the Library. More details forthcoming.
Queen Nur - Storytelling
Monday, February, 27th
The Library, CREI and the Welch Center are collaborating to present Karen "Queen Nur" Abdul-Malik. Queen Nur is an award winning storyteller and a graduate of Goucher's Master of Arts in Cultural Sustainability. More details forthcoming.
Applestein-Sweren Book Collection Contest
See the stories as told by the collections of books and related ephemera gathered over months or years by our prize-winners. Please visit the exhibited collections in the Reading Lounge (Library 4th floor). Join us at the prizes award ceremony as we listen to the collectors describe how their interests developed into collections.
Alumni Story Collection Weekend
Alumnae/i are encouraged to participate in the semester during Alumnae/i Weekend by telling us your stories. The Library and Alumni Office will be hosting several sessions during which we will gather stories about your experiences at Goucher!
Siebert Center - Library 3rd Floor
“First the words then the pictures. Nancy Patz, storyteller.” The picture books of alumna Nancy Patz.
“Tell Me A Story …Folktales From Around The World”
Special Collections & Archives - Athenaeum 4th Floor
“Thinking Outside the Book,” an exhibit of artists books curated by Chloe Vogt’15.
The Hair Project - Library Reading Lounge 4th floor
With a grant from Goucher Social Justice Committee, students engaged in a project to celebrate natural Black hair, and contribute to the social conversation around the topic. The project team was: Victoria Awkward, Harmony Jackson, Nathaniel Magloire, and Meagan Mcintosh
STORYTELLING THROUGH ORAL HISTORIES
Holocaust Survivor Oral Histories For 10 years, groups of students interviewed Baltimore-area Holocaust survivors and then went into the Baltimore community to tell the survivors' stories...". View more stories at Holocaust Survivor Oral Histories.
Black at Goucher College: An Oral History Project. Student Yabsera Faris and Professor James Dator, in collaboration with librarian, Kristen Welzenbach, will capture the stories of some of the first Black Goucher graduates. These stories are currently underrepresented in Goucher's archives and this project will enhance the depth of the archives storytelling capabilities.