Skip to main content

Special Collections & Archives Department: Home

GOUCHER COLLEGE Special Collections & Archives - Home Page

The Special Collections and Archives (SC&A) at Goucher College is a unique research center that includes rare and unique books, manuscripts, and the college archives. Our mission is to support and enhance teaching and research at Goucher by partnering with faculty to introduce and engage students in original primary source materials. 

Through the Brooke & Carol Peirce Center for Undergraduate Research students may apply for  research fellowships to support independent or class research. Students, faculty, and outside researchers are encouraged to explore our collections.

 

The collections support research in many subjects including art history, English, dance, history, women's studies, peace studies, theatre, and Maryland and Baltimore history. Learn more about some of our more frequently accessed collections. Finding aids for some collections may be found in Goucher's Digital Library.  ♦  Our world class Jane Austen Collection includes first, rare, and modern editions of Austen's works, an extensive collections of translations, periodicals and novels from the English Georgian and Regency periods, and an outstanding collection of colour-plate books.  

Services and Programming

  • Reference and research assistance

  • Class instruction

  • Individual Research Consultations

Throughout the year, SC&A offers public programming including exhibits, lectures, open houses, and tours. 

For more information, please contact Deborah Harner, public services and education archivist, at deborah.harner@goucher.edu or 410-337-6075.

Contact and Visitor Information

For general information, to schedule an appointment, or to submit a research request please email archives@goucher.edu or call 410-337-6075

The public reading room hours are Monday to Friday 10am - 12:30pm and 1:30pm - 4pm.

The SC&A generally follow the main library's schedule regarding holidays and semester breaks. Emergency and weather closings will be posted on the college's website

The Special Collections & Archives is located in the Sanford J. Ungar Athenaeum, Level 4, Room 431.

campus map   driving directions

Special Collections & Archives ♦ Goucher College Library ♦ 1021 Dulaney Valley Rd ♦ Baltimore, Md 21204

Providing digital reproductions on this website does not constitute permission to publish or reproduce those images.

Images on this website may be reproduced by individuals for personal use, research, and instruction. This website may also be linked to other websites. Please make appropriate acknowledgements such as the collection title and/or Goucher College Special Collections & Archives.  Email archives@goucher.edu with questions.


Goucher College Library, 1021 Dulaney Valley Road, Baltimore, MD 21204 • 410-337-6360 • © 2013-2017 • Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.