EZ Proxy provides off-campus users access (currently enrolled Goucher College students, faculty, and staff) to the subscription databases and journals held by the Goucher College Library. Goucher alums have limited off-campus access, see the After Goucher Guide .
You must begin your research from the WorldCat Discovery searchbox or one of the Databases from the library website to trigger the login screen when you try to access a Goucher only subscription resource.
If you have any questions, please see the Troubleshooting links below.
EZ PROXY FAQs
EZ Proxy is a software that provides off-campus users access to the subscription databases and journals held by the Goucher College Library.
Currently enrolled Goucher College students, faculty, and staff are able to access off- campus resources using EZ Proxy. Alumni may access the following databases with their Goucher credentials: Mango Languages, Project Muse, RefWorks, Annual Reviews and Sage Journals. If you need to locate your credentials, please contact firstname.lastname@example.org or (410) 337-6322.
If you are trying to access the Goucher College Library electronic resources from off- campus, simply start on the Databases link from the Library homepage or search the catalog. You will be redirected to a login page asking for your Goucher user name and password. Once your credentials are verified the database or journal page will open.
EZ Proxy should work with any browser
You will need to make sure your browser accepts cookies.
EZ Proxy works by detecting a special prefix to the URL. At Goucher, the prefix is https://goucher.idm.oclc.org/login?url=. If you create content for off-campus students you will need to add the prefix to each link before it will work off campus. For example, to link to JSTOR from off campus you would need to change the original url, http://www.jstor.org/action/showAdvancedSearch, to https://goucher.idm.oclc.org/login? url=http://www.jstor.org/action/showAdvancedSearch.
Google Scholar and EZ Proxy can work together. Goucher Library links a proxied version of Google Scholar on the Articles and Databases page. Going directly to Google Scholar from off-campus will not trigger the EZ Proxy and therefore you will not have access to Goucher's full text links.
For help with EZ Proxy questions please contact Kristen Welzenbach by email or by phone at (410) 337-6370.
Please verify that you typed your credentials correctly and if your password has expired, change your password and try to login again. If you are still having problems with your user name and password, please contact the IT Helpdesk at (410) 337- 6322.
You are trying to access a database or website that has not been configured through EZProxy. The database may have changed their web address and did not alert the library to reconfigure EZ Proxy. Please contact Kristen Welzenbach by email or by phone at (410) 337-6370.
This usually means there is a firewall issue in the Goucher network. Please contact Kristen Welzenbach by email or by phone at (410) 337-6370.
You may need to disable pop-up blockers, set your browser to accept EZ Proxy cookies, and/or check to make sure your java is updated.
Double-check that the link you used was complete (not wrapped to a second line, missing characters). Has your session timed out? EZ Proxy is configured for 60 minutes of use per session before it automatically signs the user out. You may need to login again. Have you browsed outside of the EZ Proxy-protected resource? Make sure you go back to the Articles and Databases A to Z list and access the resource from there.
Make sure you are using the Goucher network connection and not gouchervisitor. If you are logged in to the Goucher network you will not need to use the EZ Proxy url of https://goucher.idm.oclc.org/login?url= to access resources. You can delete the EZ Proxy url string and try to access the resource again.
Some organizations have a firewall or internet security settings they could interfere with EZ Proxy. You will need to talk to your network administrator at your place of business.
Some full text journals are freely available to anyone on the Internet. The Library's A-Z Databases list indicates those items that are limited to Goucher access with the "G" icon.