Goucher College's library collections have expanded over the years thanks to the generosity of alumnae/i, faculty, related organizations, and other friends of the college. Please contact library staff to discuss potential donations and to set up an appointment for the transfer of materials. For donations to Special Collections and Archives, please request a copy of the department's Collection Development Policy.
Donors should contact a tax consultant or attorney regarding possible tax deductions for donations of books and special collections. Donors must file Form 8283 to deduct the value of non-cash gifts if the claimed deduction is more than $500 and must obtain the signature of a library staff member on that form if the value of the gift if more than $5,000. Library staff may not provide monetary appraisals of collections, but can assist donors in finding certified appraisers.
Materials accepted into the library's collections will be processed and cataloged for access by researchers. Materials accepted into Special Collections and Archives will be maintained separately in a secure, climate-controlled environment. The Office of the Vice President for Development may encourage donors to consider providing a monetary donation to help support the processing and preservation of a donated collection, particularly one of substantial size and significance.
Once a donation has been accepted, the donor will sign a Deed of Gift, which is a statement of the legal transfer of personal papers, organizational records, rare books, or other materials from the donor to Goucher College. The deed describes both the donated materials and the terms of the transfer. Elements of the Deed of Gift include:
Description of the Collection: This section is completed by library staff. It describes the bulk of the material transferred by the donor, not what is ultimately kept. (SEE Disposition of Out-of-Scope Materials below)
Access Restrictions: Goucher College encourages donations without restrictions. Occasionally, access to certain sensitive materials may be restricted for a specific period of time. Special Collections and Archives staff will discuss those situations with donors.
Copyright: Copyright generally belongs to the creator of the records. In order to allow scholars to quote from the records without complication, donors are encouraged to transfer copyright to those materials for which they own that right. A specific time limitation may be placed on this transfer; e.g., rights may be retained during the lifetime of the owner. In addition, researchers will be permitted to order photocopies or other reproductions within the limitations of copyright restrictions and the department's reproduction and use policy.
Disposition of Out-of-Scope Materials: In order to make the most efficient use of library resources, donated materials will be evaluated for content that documents the college's history or supports its current and evolving curriculum and research needs. The library reserves the right to dispose of gifts that are duplicates or irrelevant to the collections, according to policies set by Goucher College. This may include sale, donation, transfer to another Goucher College department or academic institution or recycling.
Goucher College Library, 1021 Dulaney Valley Road, Baltimore, MD 21204 • 410-337-6360 • © 2013-2017 •
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.