The Peacock Edition (Pride and Prejudice. Illustrated by Hugh Thomson. London: George Allen,1894.)
Alberta H. Burke
Nancy Magnuson, college librarian
By Juliette Wells, Associate Professor of English, Goucher College
Pride & Prejudice: A 200 Year Affair, 2013 exhibit, Goucher College Library
Lily Sage, amazing student assistant
Mr. Collins Mouse
Emma in America Learn about and read a digital facsimile of the very rare 1816 Philadelphia Emma--Austen's first novel published in America and the only one during her lifetime.
The internationally recognized Jane Austen Collection at Goucher College includes first, rare, and unique editions of Austen’s novels; translations in over 40 languages; works by Austen’s contemporaries; and biographies, critical works, and adaptations. ♦ Supporting the collection is a significant number of works from the English Georgian and Regency periods, including periodicals and a fine collection of color plate books and the official records of the Jane Austen Society (JASNA).
Located in the Special Collections & Archives Departmentat Goucher College, the Jane Austen Collection is open to the Goucher community and the public for research or related purposes. *The collection is not on permanent display.*
Contact and Visitor Information
For general information, to schedule an appointment, or to submit a research request please email email@example.com call 410-337-6075.
The public reading room hours are Monday to Friday 10am - 12:30pm and 1:30pm - 4pm.
Special Collections & Archives ♦ Goucher College Library ♦ 1021 Dulaney Valley Rd ♦ Baltimore, Md 21204
Providing digital reproductions on this website does not constitute permission to publish or reproduce those images.
Images on this website may be reproduced by individuals for personal use, research, and training. This website may also be linked to other websites. Please make appropriate acknowledgements such as the collection title and/or Goucher College Special Collections & Archives. Email firstname.lastname@example.org with questions.