Skip to main content

Jane Austen at Goucher College: Home


 

Akermann's Repository

The Peacock Edition (Pride and Prejudice, illustrated by Hugh Thomson, George Allen, London, 1894)

Alberta H. Burke

Nancy Magnuson, college librarian

By Juliette Wells, Associate Professor of English, Goucher College

Pride & Prejudice: A 200 Year Affair, 2013 exhibit, Goucher College Library

Emma

Lily Sage, amazing student assistant

Emma in America    Learn about and read a digital facsimile of the very rare 1816 Philadelphia Emma--Austen's first novel published in America and the only one during her lifetime.

The Jane Austen Collection at Goucher College includes first, rare, and unique editions of Austen’s novels; translations in over 40 languages; works by Austen’s contemporaries; and biographies, critical works, and adaptations.  ♦  Supporting the collection is a significant number of works from the English Georgian and Regency periods, including periodicals and a fine collection of color plate books.
Located in the Special Collections & Archives Department at Goucher College, the Jane Austen Collection is open to the Goucher community and the public for research or related purposes.  *The collection is not on permanent display.*

Contact, Hours, and Location

For general information, to schedule an appointment, or to submit a reference request please email archives@goucher.edu or call 410-337-6075. Contacting the SC&A prior to your visit or to schedule an appointment is is recommended.
Regular Hours:  Monday to Friday 10am - 12:30pm and 1:30pm - 4pm    We generally follow the main library's schedule regarding holidays and semester breaks. Emergency and weather closings will be posted on the college's website
The Special Collections & Archives is located in the Sanford J. Ungar Athenaeum, Level 4, Room 431 (across from the elevator)

campus map   driving directions

Special Collections & Archives♦Goucher College Library♦1021 Dulaney Valley Rd.♦Baltimore, Md 21204

 

 

 

 

Providing digital reproductions on this website does not constitute permission to publish or reproduce those images.

Images on this website may be reproduced by individuals for personal use, research, and training. This website may also be linked to other websites. Please make appropriate acknowledgements such as the collection title and/or Goucher College Special Collections & Archives.  Email archives@goucher.edu with questions.


Goucher College Library, 1021 Dulaney Valley Road, Baltimore, MD 21204 • 410-337-6360 • Copyright © 2016. All rights reserved.