Skip to main content

Faculty Information

Information for faculty about course and research support.

Permalink Definition

Faculty are able to link directly from their Canvas course to Goucher licensed articles and ebooks.  The best way to do this is to add a permalink to the location of the item. 

What is a permalink?

A permalink is a web address (also known as a URL) that will consistently point to a specific information source such as an ebook, an article, a record in the catalog, a video, or a database.   A permalink may also be called a stable link, durable link, persistent link, permanent link or document link, depending on the resource.

Why can't I just copy the URL in my browser's address bar?

URLs that appear in the address bar of your web browser when you search the library's subscription databases usually contain dynamically generated session-based or search-based information that will not work when copied and used at a later time.  

Uploading An Article to Canvas

Why would I use a permalink instead of uploading the article into Canvas, Google docs, faculty webpages, email or elsewhere?

You may be in violation of copyright law or license restrictions if you post content without appropriate authorization or permission.  For more information about copyright law, please see the Copyright @ Goucher Libguide.  Permalinks are also preferred because they can help the library track usage; this allows us to purchase the right resources for you.   

Should I ever upload the article to Canvas rather than use the permalink?

Yes, in the case of a few journals to which we have access via tokens.  If your department uses these regularly, you will have been notified.  By uploading to Canvas, you will minimize the number of tokens that we have to pay for.  While this will affect the usage, we are able to take that into consideration during purchase review.

How To Find Permalinks

Most research databases include a permalink in the article record.  The terms used and the location of these links in the record vary from one database to another.  Examples are provided below.  Please contact your library liaison if you are having trouble locating the permalink for a specific resource.

How do I know if a permalink will work from off campus?

When on campus, access is transparent -- you are being authenticated even if you don't realize it because we recognize the IP address.  When off campus, authentication via a proxy server (EZProxy) allows us to recognize and authenticate Goucher College Library users.  In order for links to our paid subscription resources (ebooks, journals, online videos, etc.) to work from outside our campus network, they must contain the library's proxy prefix in the URL or web address. 

What does the proxy prefix look like?

It looks like this - https://goucher.idm.oclc.org/login?url=.  The prefix is usually in front of a URL that directs you to an article.  Here’s an example of a permalink with the proxy prefix attached:

https://goucher.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=tru e&db=a9h&AN=110858655&site=ehost-live&scope=site

This means that when you provide someone with a link to a resource, whether in Canvas or via email, you may need to copy and paste the prefix in front of the permalink (if it’s not already there) in order to create a complete link that will work from off-campus.  When you click such a link from off-campus, a dialog box will appear and prompt you to login with your Goucher credentials.  For more information on off-campus access see the Off-Campus Libguide

Database Examples

WorldCat Discovery: 

  1. Click on the button that says “Link” on the upper right portion of the record
  2. Copy and paste the URL from the box that says “Share record link”

 

EBSCOhost Databases:

  1. Click on the link icon on the right side of the screen (if you move your cursor over it you’ll see the word “permalink”)
  2. Copy and paste the URL from the box that says “Permalink”

Note:  Permalinks from EBSCOhost databases already contain the proxy prefix – you do not have to add it.

ProQuest Databases: 

  1. Click the Abstract/Details tab toward the top of the page
  2. Scroll down
  3. Copy and paste the URL from the field that says “Document URL”

Note:  Permalinks from ProQuest databases already contain the proxy prefix – you do not have to add it.

JSTOR: This database makes it easy - the permalink is right up front.  However, these permalinks do not contain the proxy prefix, so you must add it in order for it to work from off-campus.

ScienceDirect: This database makes it easy - the permalink is right up front.  However, these permalinks do not contain the proxy prefix, so you must add it in order for it to work from off-campus.

Goucher College Library, 1021 Dulaney Valley Road, Baltimore, MD 21204 • 410-337-6360 • © 2013-2017 • Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.