- 19th Century Masterfile
A comprehensive resource for pre-1930 primary sources with links to full text, where available. Indexes content from over 70 sources, including periodicals, newspapers, books, patents, image archives, government documents and more.
- A-Z Maps Online
All sorts of maps from every country and region of the world.
- ABC-CLIO Ebook Collection
A collection of ebooks searchable by keyword, subject, author, or title, and browsable by topic or publication date.
- Academic Search Complete
A multidisciplinary index with full text covering the humanities, sciences, social sciences, and current events.
- Academic Video Online (VAST)
A multidisciplinary online collection of videos available for streaming to computers or mobile devices. Clips can be easily made. Over 10,000 videos in disciplines including history, education, art, dance, anthropology, humanities, health, business, psychology, politics, theater, and science.
- Access World News
Comprehensive collection of full-text newspapers, including most major, local and regional U.S. newspapers and thousands of international news sources; includes searchable news video clips.
- Accessible Archives
Early American newspapers, magazines and other primary sources in history, including Godey's Lady's Book, the Pennsylvania Gazette, the Civil War collection, the Lily, and others.
- ACS (American Chemical Society) Publications
Full text journals published by the American Chemical Society - the leading publisher of peer-reviewed research journals in the chemical and related sciences; includes archive of articles published between 1879 and 1995.
- African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
Over 270 U.S. newspapers from more than 35 states chronicling the African American experience. Includes many rare and historically significant 19th century titles.
- African American Periodicals, 1825-1995
Explore crucial facets of the African American experience through more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals, including political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, annual reports and other genres.
- Afro-Americana Imprints, 1535-1922
Full-text of pamphlets, broadsides, advertisements, letters, slave narratives, and other literature by and about African Americans from 1535 to 1922.
- Alt-Press Watch
Full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals from alternative and independent presses; this interdisciplinary resource provides a valuable source of alternative viewpoints and perspectives to complement and challenge mainstream media coverage (ProQuest)
- America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1900
Full text articles from early American newspapers; searchable by presidential era, place of publication, language, and type of article, such as editorial, advertisements, birth and death notices, and cartoons.
- America: History & Life
Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
- American Civil War Letters & Diaries, 1861-1865
Full text of letters, diaries and memoirs written by over 2000 authors and biographies. Invaluable for research on this period of history; can be searched by names of people, battles, personal events, places, and dates.
- American Film Scripts
Full text of 1,009 scripts by 1,062 writers together with detailed, fielded information on the scenes, characters and people related to the scripts. Browse scripts by subjects, characters, years, or people.
- American Periodical Series
Full text of over 1,100 historically significant periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children’s and women’s magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals.
- Annual Reviews
Full text authoritative and comprehensive review articles in the biomedical, life, physical, and social Sciences. Among the most highly cited in the scientific literature, Annual Reviews is the best place to start research or read the most current overview of a topic.
Journal literature in anthropology
Provides access to nearly a million descriptions of archival collections owned by thousands of libraries, museums, histor
ical societies and archives worldwide.
- Art & Architecture Complete
Full text of hundreds of periodicals and books, plus indexing and abstracts for hundreds more academic publications. Also features a collection of over 63,000 images.
- Art Retrospective
Art Index citations published between 1929-1984.
More than 3,500 French language texts spanning from the 12th through the 20th centuries, 215 million words and 675,000 unique word forms.
- Asian American Drama
Texts of plays plus detailed information on related productions, theaters, and production companies.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Most comprehensive American index guide to the current literature of architecture, city planning, design, and historic preservation. Published by Columbia University.
- Baltimore Afro-American
Full text of the Afro-American and Afro-American Ledger (1893 – 1988).
- Baltimore Sun
Full text of articles appearing in the Baltimore Sun from 1837 to the present. Includes the Historical Baltimore Sun.
- Biological Abstracts 1969-2008
Bibliographic references to life science journal literature published from 1969-2008.
A collection of Bioscience research journals.
- Black Drama: 1850 to present, second edition.
Contains the full text of more than 1,460 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 250 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries.
- Black Thought and Culture
Contains 438 works of non-fiction written by 192 leading African Americans from colonial times to 1975.
- Britannica Online
Full text of the best-known, most authoritative and comprehensive encyclopedia online. Includes time lines for many subjects, videos and links to reliable sources.
- British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries, 1500-1900
A collection which describes the immediate experiences of 91 British and Irish women, as revealed in approximately 24,000 pages of diaries and letters.
- Business Source Premier
Covers nearly every area of business, including management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and more.
Approximately 95,000 art images, including photographs, paintings, sculpture, decorative and utilitarian objects, prints, drawings and watercolors, jewelry and costumes, textiles and architecture; plus audio, video and mixed media.
- Choice Reviews Online
Highly selective, CHOICE publishes concise, critical, and authoritative reviews of more than 7,000 new titles a year, spanning the entire liberal arts and sciences curriculum. Covers academic books, electronic media and Internet resources. See these help pages
- Chronicle of Higher Education
Daily online version of the journal; searchable back to 1988.
- Communication and Mass Media Complete
Indexing and abstracts for over 600 journals, and includes full text full text for over 440 journals. A comprehensive resource for communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study.
- CQ Researcher
Original, comprehensive reports and analysis on issues in the news. CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Great resource for both sides of controversial issues. Coverage from 1923 to the present; includes all of the CQ Global Researcher articles.
- Credo Reference
An online collection with full text content from hundreds of reference books on a broad range of subjects. Credo provides trusted reference sources from over 70 of the world's leading academic publishers.
- Digitalia Hispanica TRIAL until Dec. 31, 2013
Multidisciplinary collection of eBooks and journals in Spanish from the most renowned Spanish and Latin American publishers, as well as relevant journals that cover all topics of interest.
- Early American Imprints, Series I and II
Full-text of virtually every book, pamphlet and broadside published in America from 1639 to 1819. Includes almanacs, cookbooks, diaries, textbooks, advertisements, contracts, charters, legislation, treaties, poems, songs, plays, the Bible, sermons, eulogies, and much more.
- Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Culture, and the Environment
Documents the relationships among peoples and with the environment in North America from 1534 to 1850.
- eBook Academic Collection
Comprehensive collection of ebooks in all subjects on EbscoHost; most available for download.
Over 120,000 eBook titles in all academic disciplines from renowned publishers; most available for download.
The foremost source of references to economic literature, EconLit is a reliable source of citations and abstracts to economic research dating back to 1969.
- Education Journals
Full text of several hundred journals which cover the literature on primary, secondary, and higher education, and other related topics (ProQuest).
- ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) on Ebscohost
Provides access to over a million records of journal articles and other education-related materials and, if available, includes links to full text.
- Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest)
News, culture, and history from publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Full text of articles from newspapers, magazines and journals from 1960 to present. Some articles in other languages.
- French 17
An annual survey of the work done each year in seventeenth-century French studies. Covers literary history and criticism, linguistics and language, politics, society, philosophy, science, religion and the arts.
- French Women Writers
Full text of over 150 works by French women authors from the 16th to the 19th century.
- Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
- GenderWatch (ProQuest)
Full text data base dealing with women and gender, 1970-
- Global Road Warrior
Essential guide for international travel and study. Find facts on culture, geography, economy, customs, security, food, health, transportation, advice for women, basic vocabulary, and much more.
- Google Scholar
Broad search site for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions. Items with "Full Text@Goucher Library" link are available free to the Goucher community via library subscription databases.
Well-researched but accessible information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond.
- Harp Week
The electronic version of Harper’s Weekly, the 19th century "Journal of Civilization."
- Health Source Nursing/Academic and Consumer Editions
Medical information from consumer, nursing, and academic health journals.
- Historical Abstracts
Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada).
- Historical Statistics of the United States
Quantitative data on American history
- Humanities and Social Sciences Retrospective
Indexes a wide range of important journals in the humanities and social sciences from 1907 to 1984. Fulltext links on Ebscohost.
- Humanities E-Book Project (ACLS)
A collection of high-quality books published by over 120 learned societies and university presses in the humanities and social sciences.
- International Index to the Performing Arts
A full text database which covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry.
- IPA Source
Large collection of opera arias and art song texts with International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations to aid voice students and teachers in the comprehension and accurate pronunciation of foreign language texts.
- JAMA Network
Journal of the American Medical Association, including older articles back to 1998.
- Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism
An online reference handbook for literary theory; includes almost 300 alphabetically arranged entries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods.
Full text of more than 2000 scholarly journals dating back to their first issue. Covers all disciplines except current science topics.
- LexisNexis Academic
Full text articles and documents: news, business and legal information including corporate and country data, federal and state court decisions and codes, and much more.
- Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
Indexing and abstracts of articles in library, information science and educational technology.
- Literature Online (LION)
More than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 323 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.
- Mango Languages
Learn a new language with step by step lesson plans for 38 different languages, plus English-as-a-second language instruction. First time users must create a profile. Want it on your phone? Download the Mango Mobile App.
- MAS Ultra - school edition
Index and full-text of popular general interest and current events publications.
- MasterFILE Premier
General interest journals in business, consumer health, general science, and multi-cultural topics.
A carefully maintained and easily searchable database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature; covers over 400 journals going back to the late 1800s.
- Medline (Ebscohost)
Index to medical literature, created by the National Library of Medicine, on the Ebscohost platform.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
Reviews and evaluations of commercially available testing instruments in English in the fields of psychology, education, business, and leadership. Coverage from 1938 to the present; includes Tests in Print.
- Military & Government Collection
Includes journal articles pertaining to all branches of the military and government.
- MLA International Bibliography
A subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Coverage includes literature from all over the world--Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America. Covers indexing dating from 1926 to the present.
- Music Index Online
Comprehensive subject-author guide to music periodical literature with data from more than 850 music journals from over 40 countries. Topics range from the classical to the popular world of music. Inlcues book reviews, obituaries, new periodicals, and news and articles about music, musicians and the music industry. Coverage spans 1962 to the present.
- National Newspapers
Full text of the Christian Science Monitor, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post, from the 1980s to the present. (ProQuest)
The premier journal of peer-reviewed science articles covering chemistry, clinical practice and research sciences, Earth and the environment, life sciences, and physical sciences. Includes Nature Genetics and Nature Physics.
- New York Review of Books
The premier magazine for discussion of literature, culture and current affairs. Includes all issues from 1963 to the most current.
- New York Times (Historical Newspapers)
Full text of The New York Times (1851-1999).
- North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories
Letters and diaries, oral histories, interviews, and other personal narratives.
- North American Women's Letters and Diaries, Colonial-1950
The immediate experiences of 442 women, as revealed in diaries and letters.
- OpinionArchives (TRIAL)
Full-text, current issues and archives of renowned news and opinion magazines including the New Yorker, the Progressive, Harper's, Washington Monthly, Dissent, and more.
- Oxford Art Online
Major reference for all aspects of art history, plus the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
- Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
The OED traces the usage of words from their first recorded occurrence to the modern period through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international language sources. It is a unique source of scholarly information on the meaning, history and pronunciation of words both past and present.
- Oxford Music Online
Collection of the most comprehensive reference works on music history, composers, and other topics in music, including Grove Music Online, the Oxford Dictionary of Music, and the Oxford Companion to Music.
- Oxford Reference
An online collection of encyclopedias on topics ranging from art to history, religion, and social sciences.
(Not Full Text) Index covers every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Center.
- Periodicals Archive Online
Full text of hundreds of scholarly journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Complements the titles found in JSTOR.
- Philosopher's Index
A current and comprehensive index and abstract database covering scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy. Considered the most thorough index of journal literature on the subject, it contains research published since 1940 including over 620 journals from 43 countries.
- Physical Review Online Archive (PROLA)
The online archive for publications of the American Physical Society. Includes Physical Review Letters, Reviews of Modern Physics, and Physical Review A–E. Contains articles published from 1893 to the present.
- Primary Search
Full text popular magazines for elementary school research.
(Not Full Text) Index covers every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Center. Contains in each record a list of the papers presented at each conference.
- Project MUSE
A comprehensive selection of peer-reviewed scholarly journals from university presses and societies. Provides full text access to high-quality scholarly articles from over 400 titles in the humanities and social sciences.
- ProQuest Congressional
Profiles, voting records, campaign finance data and more on members of Congress, details of legislation, Congressional committees, and political news.
- PsycArticles and PsycInfo
The primary database for articles in psychology and the behavioral sciences, from 1887 to the present. Journal coverage is international in scope. Includes full text from a select group of journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA).
- Readers’ Guide Retrospective
An index of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States, 1890 through 1982. Fulltext links on Ebscohost.
An online citation manager. Organize, search, share your citations and access them from any computer with an Internet connection. Create bibliographies in APA, MLA, Turabian, or in any of 800 styles.
- Regional Business News
Provides comprehensive full text coverage for over 100 regional business publications.
- Sage Journals Online
Full-text journals in anthropology, communications, education, economics, gender studies, health sciences, history, philosophy, political science, psychology, and sociology.
- Salem History
U.S. history and society by decade: covers issues, events, culture, and individuals of each decade from the 1920s through the 1990s.
- Science Magazine
The world's leading journal of original scientific research, global news, and commentary.
- ScienceDirect (SciVerse)
Full text scholarly journal articles in the physical and biological Sciences, business and economics, education, medicine, psychology, and more.
- SciFinder Scholar
A research discovery tool used to search the CAS databases containing literature from many scientific disciplines including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and more. REQUIRES REGISTRATION using a secure site; email your chemistry professor to obtain the link.
- Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period
Contains 60 volumes of Romantic Poetry, extensive contemporary critical reviews, and other material.
- SocIndex with Full Text
Comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, substance abuse, violence and much more.
Contains statistical data on over 600 international industries from more than 18,000 sources, including market researchers, trade organizations, scientific journals, and government databases.
- Teachers Reference Center
Covers materials in the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States
Provides primary documents, books, images, scholarly essays, book reviews, Web site reviews, and teaching tools, all documenting the multiplicity of women's activism in public life.
- Women Writers Online
Searchable texts by pre-Victorian women writers from the Brown University Women Writers Project.
(Not Full Text) The OCLC catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide.
- WorldCat (FirstSearch, original interface)
(Not full text) Structured interface to the WorldCat database of books and other materials.
- WorldCat Dissertations
(Not Full Text) Catalog of dissertations and theses in libraries worldwide.