Last Updated: Dec 19, 2014
African American Studies- Articles and Databases
- Academic Search Complete
A multidisciplinary index with full text covering the humanities, sciences, social sciences, and current events.
- Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest)
News, culture, and history from publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Full text of articles from newspapers, magazines and journals from 1960 to present. Some articles in other languages.
Full text of more than 2000 scholarly journals dating back to their first issue. Covers all disciplines except current science topics.
- America: History & Life
Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
- eBook Academic Collection
Comprehensive collection of ebooks in all subjects on EbscoHost; most available for download.
Over 120,000 eBook titles in all academic disciplines from renowned publishers; most available for download.
- African-American Newspapers, 1827-1998
Over 270 U.S. newspapers from more than 35 states chronicling the African American experience. Includes many rare and historically significant 19th century titles.
- Afro-Americana Imprints, 1535-1922
Full-text of pamphlets, broadsides, advertisements, letters, slave narratives, and other literature by and about African-Americans from 1535 to 1922.
- America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1900
Full text articles from early American newspapers; searchable by presidential era, place of publication, language, and type of article, such as editorial, advertisements, birth and death notices, and cartoons.
- Baltimore Afro-American
Full text of the Afro-American and Afro-American Ledger (1893 – 1988).
- Black Drama: 1850 to present, second edition.
Contains the full text of more than 1,460 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 250 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries.
- Black Thought and Culture
Contains 438 works of non-fiction written by 192 leading African Americans from colonial times to 1975.
- Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective
Full text of major articles from issues of The New York Herald, The Charleston Mercury and the Richmond Enquirer, published between November 1, 1860 and April 15, 1865.
- Documenting the American South
Primary sources and other materials related to southern history, literature, and culture, sponsored by the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill's library.
- Early Imprints, Series I and II
Full-text of virtually every book, pamphlet and broadside published in America from 1639 to 1819. Includes almanacs, cookbooks, diaries, textbooks, advertisements, contracts, charters, legislation, treaties, poems, songs, plays, the Bible, sermons, eulogies, and much more.
- In the First Person
Index to Letters, Diaries, Oral Histories, and Other Personal Narratives.
- New York Times (Historical Newspapers)
Full text of The New York Times (1851-1999).
When searching in Google Scholar, patrons should click on the Scholar Preferences link (located in the upper-right hand corner of the results page). Scroll to Library Links section and select Goucher College to receive full-text articles available at Goucher College.