"Reading Pride and Prejudice From Afar"
Saturday, April 27, 2013, at 1:30 pm
Special Collections & Archives
A talk by Associate Professor of English Juliette Wells: Two-hundred years later and thousands of miles away, how and why do we American readers continue to feel close to Jane Austen's world? Wells’ talk will center on the incomparable Austen collection donated to Goucher by Alberta Hirschheimer Burke ’28. Tea to follow, where copies of Wells’ book Everybody’s Jane: Austen in the Popular Imagination will be available for purchase and signing, proceeds to benefit Special Collections.
*A Goucher alumnae/i event. By invitation only.
Information Makes Us Human
Monday, March 25, 2013, at 3:30 pm
The Batza Room in the Athenaeum
A talk by Joe Janes, associate professor and chair of the Master of Library and Information Science Program at the Information School of the University of Washington, will discuss the myriad guises, forms, and uses of information and how it has affected and is affected by us and by our quest to understand and make meaning of the world around us.
A frequent speaker in the United States and abroad, Janes is the co-author of eight books on librarianship, technology, and their relationship, including Introduction to Reference Work in the Digital Age. In addition to his regular column “Internet Librarian” for American Libraries, Janes recently launched the podcast “Documents that Changed the World,” which discusses the origin of historically important documents, their original meaning, and how that meaning has changed along with our world.
He earned master of library science and doctoral degrees from Syracuse University and has also taught at the University of Michigan, the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, the State University of New York at Albany, and Syracuse University.
Part of the Athenaeum Library Series, and sponsored by Friends of the Goucher College Library, Katharine Parker Scholl Library Fund, and Laura Cooper Graham Lecture Fund.
See the Goucher Press Release here.
The Inaugural Applestein-Sweren Book Collecting Prize Award Ceremony
Tuesday, November 13, 2012, at 6:30 pm
The Batza Room in the Athenaeum
The Goucher College Library this year introduced the Applestein-Sweren Prize for book collecting, which was made possible by an endowment established this year by Betty Applestein Sweren ’52 and Dr. Edgar Sweren.
The competition is meant to encourage Goucher students to read for enjoyment and to develop personal libraries throughout their lives; to appreciate the special qualities of printed or illustrated works; and to read, research, and preserve their collected works for pleasure and scholarship.
Annual prizes of $500, $250, and $150 will be awarded to Goucher students who present thoughtfully constructed personal collections of books and related ephemera on any subject.
n addition to the cash prizes, winners will be given the opportunity to curate a small exhibition of their collections in the Goucher College Library. The first-prize winner also will be eligible for the $2,500 national prize awarded by the National Collegiate Book Collecting Contest, sponsored by the Antiquarian Booksellers Association of America, the Fellowship of American Bibliophilic Societies, and the Center for the Book and the Rare Books and Special Collections Division.
The winners of the inaugural Applestein-Sweren Prize are:
Co-first place: Lily Dodge ’12: A Portal to Middle Earth: The Dodge Collection of Tolkien Books & Ephemera
Camden Kimura ’12: I Know That Town: To Kill A Mockingbird
Second place: Cynthia Ferguson ’14: Strange Things Afoot: Gothic Literature in the American Tradition
Honorable mention: JoAnna Ramsey ’16: The Movies, the Magic and Me
A Wrinkle in Time: A Celebration
Wednesday, October 17, 2012, at Noon
The Sarah "Bunny" Siebert Curriculum Resource Center in the Library
Goucher College celebrates the 50th anniversary of Madeleine L’Engle’s classic A Wrinkle in Time by reading the book aloud from start to finish. The science fiction fantasy novel was first published in 1962. The story, revolving around a young girl whose government scientist father has gone missing after working on a mysterious project called a tesseract, won a Lewis Carroll Shelf Award, the Newbery Medal, and a Sequoyah Book Award, and it was runner-up for the Hans Christian Andersen Award.
The book will be read by Goucher staff, faculty, and students. Guests may drop in for any part of the reading, and snacks and beverages will be provided.
Goucher College Library, 1021 Dulaney Valley Road, Baltimore, MD 21204 • 410-337-6360 • © 2013-2017 •
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.