Skip to main content

Friends of the Library

The Friends of the Goucher College Library are alumnae/i, faculty, students, library staff, and others who enjoy a common bond: a passion for communicating the importance of the library within the intellectual setting of Goucher College.

Spring 2016 - Teaching with Special Collections & Archives

Teaching with Special Collections & Archives

 

Saturday, April 16, 2016 1:15 PM - 2:45 PM

Special Collections & Archives, Ungar Athenaeum, 4th Floor


Participate in a hands-on exercise demonstrating how students learn about subjects such as the civil rights movement and World War II using original historical documents from Goucher's rare and archival collections. Meet some of our students and learn about their research projects. 

This event is co-sponsored by the Friends of the Goucher College Library and Goucher College Alumnae/i.

Spring 2016 - Fair Labor Lawyer

Fair Labor Lawyer


Thursday, March 24, 2016, 7:00 p.m.

Batza Room, Ungar Athenaeum

 

Marlene Trestman '78, former Goucher trustee, author, and former special assistant to the Maryland attorney general, takes us on a journey in her book, Fair Labor Lawyer: The Remarkable Life of New Deal Attorney and Supreme Court Advocate Bessie Margolin. Trestman's book is about attorney and Supreme Court advocate Bessie Margolin. Margolin is described as "shaping modern American labor policy while creating a place for female lawyers in the nation's highest courts." 

This event is co-sponsored by the Friends of the Goucher College Library and Goucher Hillel. Light Kosher refreshments will be served.

To listen to an audio recording of this event, please go here.

 

Fall 2015 - From bibliography to Book Studies

From Bibliography to Book Studies


Thursday, October 15, 2015, 6:30 p.m.

Kelley Lecture Hall

 


A lecture by Michael Suarez, S.J., Director of Rare Book School, Professor of English, and Honorary Curator of Special Collections at the University of Virginia.  In celebration of Professor Arnie Sanders' long career at Goucher College, on his retirement.

This event is co-sponsored by the Goucher College Book Studies program, the Friends of the Goucher College Library, and The Baltimore Bibliophiles.


To listen to an audio recording of this event, please go here.

Fall 2015 - Opening Reception, "Emma in America: Jane Austen's Novel Through Two Centuries"

Opening Reception, "Emma in America: Jane Austen's Novel Through Two Centuries"

Saturday, October 17, 2015, 3 p.m. - 5 p.m.
Sanford J. Ungar Athenaeum, 4th Floor & Hyman Forum

 

The Emma in America exhibit opening reception, to begin with a brief introduction by Austen scholar Juliette Wells, and a dance performance by Choregraphie Antique.  Established in 1988, by Goucher Professor Emerita of Dance Chrystelle Bond, Choregraphie Antique performs historical dance reconstructions. The troupe has performed at many historical and cultural sites throughout the Mid-Atlantic, including President Obama's Inaugural Ball in 2009.
 

This event is co-sponsored by the Friends of the Goucher College Library and the Isabelle Kellogg Thomas English Lectureship Fund.

Check out the Emma in America website!

Fall 2015 - Book Release Party for Professor Juliette Wells

Book Release Party for Professor Juliette Wells

Tuesday, September 29, 2015, 3 p.m. - 5 p.m. 
Driveway of the Sanford J. Ungar Athenaeum

 


Come celebrate the release of Emma: 200th-Anniversary Annotated Edition, Penguin Classics Deluxe Edition, edited by Juliette Wells, associate professor and chair of the English Department at Goucher College. Featuring a visit by the Penguin Book Truck, which will be open from 10 a.m.-6 p.m.

Sponsored by the Friends of the Goucher College Library

 

 

 

 

Goucher College Library, 1021 Dulaney Valley Road, Baltimore, MD 21204 • 410-337-6360 • © 2013-2017 • Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.