Skip to main content

Religious Studies

Useful information for research in the subject of religious studies

Style Guide Websites

MLA Style Guide (Purdue OWL)
The Modern Language Association (MLA) uses a simple, two-part approach to citation. Parenthetical notations in the text of the paper point to complete citations in the alphabetical list of works cited at the end of the paper.

APA Style Guide (Purdue OWL)
The American Psychological Association (APA) also uses a two-part system with parenthetical notations in the text referring to full citations in the list of references at the end of the paper.

Chicago Manual of Style (Purdue OWL)
The Chicago Manual of Style offers two citation systems:

  • The Author-Date system uses parenthetical notations in the text of the paper and full citations in a works cited section at the end of the paper; generally used by writers in the physical and social sciences
  • The Notes and Bibliography system uses either footnotes or endnotes with a bibliography at the end of the paper; generally used by writers in literature, history, and the arts

RefWorks


RefWorks is a web-based bibliography and database manager that allows you to create a personal, searchable database of citations. These citations can be formatted into your Microsoft Word documents as footnotes or a custom bibliography.

Because it is entirely web-based (the bibliographic records reside on the web, not your computer), it gives you access to your bibliographies from any computer as long as you are connected to the internet. To be safe, be sure to back up your files. RefWorks also offers a mobile platform.

Goucher College Library maintains a site license to RefWorks so it's free to all Goucher students, faculty, and staff, and will continue to be available to you even after you graduate! To get started, use your Goucher email to create your RefWorks account. For more information see the RefWorks LibGuide.

Be patient at first as there is a learning curve. Once you are comfortable navigating the program, it can save you time with your research in any of your subjects.

Goucher College Library, 1021 Dulaney Valley Road, Baltimore, MD 21204 • 410-337-6360 • © 2013-2017 • Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.