Skip to main content

APA Citation Style Guide

Creating citations in APA format

Articles

Formatting Articles on Your References Page

Articles from Databases: In general, when you cite an article from a database, the format is the same as for a print article. At the end of the citation include the DOI (digital object identifier - a unique code for the article) number to indicate an online article. If there is no DOI number assigned to the article, give the URL of the journal, magazine, or newspaper home page.

Other formatting requirements:

  • Your entire paper, including your References page, should be double-spaced.
  • Alphabetize your References list by the first word of the citation (usually the author's last name).
  • Indent the second & following lines of the citation 5-7 spaces.  
  • Multiple authors:
    • For 2-7 authors, your list of names will look like this: Wingert, P., Smith, J., & Brown, P.
    • More than 7 authors: provide the first six authors, an ellipsis, and the final author. For example: Wingert, P., Smith, J., Brown, P., Harris, F., Johnson, A., Thompson, R.,...Lovett, M.
  • Only capitalize the first word of the document title. If there is a colon in the title, capitalize the first word after the colon.
  • Italicize the title of the magazine or journal.  Also italicize the volume number - but do not italicize the issue number.
  • Include a page range whenever available. In the complete citations on your References page, do not put p. or pp. in front of the page range.
  • Do not include a period after the DOI number or URL.
  • Dates: Use n.d. (no date) when a publication date is not available.
  • No retrieval date is needed.

Scholarly Journal Articles vs. Magazine Articles: A Quick Comparison

Scholarly Journal Articles Magazine Articles
Written by an expert Written by a non-expert
Articles often go through a peer review process: independent experts evaluate the article before it's published Articles are reviewed by an editor, but not by a panel of experts
Articles have footnotes and bibliographies Articles may or may not mention sources in the text
Minimal advertising, graphics, or illustrations unless relevant to the article (for example, art journals) Extensive advertising, lavish photos, colorful cover to market the magazine

 

A Note about DOIs (Digital Object Identifiers): There are two DOI formats. The older format is simply a number, and is included in the citation as doi:number. (There is no space between the colon and the number.) The newer format is in the form of a URL and starts with http://dx.doi.org/, and is included as-is at the end of the citation (do not put "doi" or "Retrieved from" in front of it). For more information about DOI formatting, see the APA Style Blog.

Print Journal

Last Name, First Initial(s). (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal, Vol.(Issue), Page(s). 

Hallin, D. C. (2008). Sound bite news. Journal of Communication, 42(2), 5-24.

Article from Database (Has DOI)

Last Name, First Initial(s). (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal, Vol.(Issue), 

      Page(s). doi:number

Hoar, W. P. (2004). Benign discrimination? New American, 19(9), 42-44. 

       doi:10.1080/1462220041000

Article with New DOI Format

Last Name, First Initial(s). (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal, Volume if

      available(Issue if available). DOI

Gupta, A., Daigle, S., Mojica, J., & Hurley, R. W. (2009, November). Patient

      perception of pain care in hospitals in the United States. Journal of Pain

      Research, 2. http://dx.doi.org/10.2147/JPR.S7903

Article from Database (Does Not Have DOI)

Last Name, First Intial(s). (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal, Vol.(Issue),

       Page(s). Retrieved from URL of journal home page.

Hoar, W. P. (2004). Benign discrimination? New American, 19(2), 5-24.

       Retrieved from www.thenewamerican.com

Article from Online Journal

Last Name, First Initial(s). (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal, Volume if

        available(Issue if available). Retrieved from Full article URL

Abel, M. (2016). Relevant interdisciplinary: Taking the art history classroom to

       the field. Peregrinations: Journal of Medieval Art & Architecture, 5(3).

       Retrieved from http://peregrinations.kenyon.edu/vol5_3/

       AbelPeregrinations53.pdf

Print

Last Name, First Initial(s). (Year, Month Day). Title of article. Title of Magazine, 

     Volume if available(Issue if available), Page(s).

Lavelle, M. (2008, June 11). Behind the teen birth decline.

     U.S. News & World Report, 63-65.

Article from Database (Has DOI)

Last Name, First Initial(s). (Year, Month Day). Title of article. Title of Magazine,

      Volume if available(Issue if available), Pages. doi:number

Wingert, P. (2005, October 14). Education: Legislating legacies. Newsweek,

      10-12. doi:10.1057

Article from Database (Does Not Have DOI)

Last Name, First Initial(s). (Year, Month Day). Title of article. Title of Magazine,

     Volume if available(issue if available), pages. Retrieved from URL of

     magazine home page

Wingert, P. (2005, October 14). Education: Legislating legacies. Newsweek,

     10-12. Retrieved from http://www.newsweek.com

Article from Magazine Website

Last Name, First Initial(s). (Year, Month Day). Title of article. Title of Magazine,

      Volume if available(Issue if available). Retrieved from Full article URL

Dockterman, E. (2016, April 5). Twitter will stream football games for free this

      year. Time. Retrieved from http://time.com/4281944/twitter-nfl-games-

      stream-thursday-nights/

NOTE: For your References page, the page ranges in newspaper articles get a p. (for one page) or pp. (for multiple pages). You should not include p. or pp. in front of the page ranges for journal or magazine articles listed on your References page.

Print

Last Name, First Initial(s). (Year, Month Day). Title of article. Title of Newspaper,

     Page(s).

Hall, T. (2008, February 24). IQ scores are up. New York Times, pp. F1, F5.

Article from Database

Last Name, First Initital(s). (Year, Month Day). Title of article. Title of Newspaper,

       Page(s). Retrieved from URL of newspaper home page

Henriques, D. B. (2003, June 29). Still testing Wall St.'s ceiling.

     New York Times, p. B2. Retrieved from www.newyorktimes.com

Article from Newspaper Website

Last Name, First Initital(s). (Year, Month Day). Title of article. Title of Newspaper.

       Retrieved from Full article URL

Fernandes, R. (2016, April 4). Nearly half of students are open to free-speech

       restrictions on campuses, survey finds. The Chronicle of Higher Education.

       Retrieved from http://chronicle.com/blogs/ticker/nearly-half-of-students-are-

       open-to-free-speech-restrictions-on-campuses-survey-finds/110015

Loading

Goucher College Library, 1021 Dulaney Valley Road, Baltimore, MD 21204 • 410-337-6360 • © 2013-2017 • Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.