Skip to main content

Jane Austen at Goucher College: Collection Overview


Collection Overview

In 1975,  Alberta Hirshheimer Burke, a 1928 alumna, bequeathed her collection of over 1,000 volumes by and related to Jane Austen and her times to Goucher College.  For more than 45 years, Alberta Burke built a world-class Jane Austen Collection with great care and perseverance. In edition to first and early volumes, the collection also includes rare period publications and Alberta Burke's own notebooks of Austen-related ephemera and correspondence with Austen collectors and scholars. Through funding provided by the Burkes and donations from members of the community, the collection has grown to over 2,000 volumes and 100 linear feet of manuscript and archival records.  The collection also includes the official records of the Jane Austen Society of North America (JASNA).

Translations
Ever since the first translation of Pride and Prejudice in 1813, Jane Austen's novels have appeared in many languages throughout the world. There are translations in over 40 languages in the Austen Collection at Goucher College.
 
Emma, French ; Pride and Prejudice, Italian

Emma Swedish 1982

The extremely rare 1816 Philadelphia Emma published by M. Carey.  Austen’s first novel printed in America and during her lifetime.  Later novels would not be published in America until the 1830s in London and Philadelphia.  

The Tour of Dr. Syntax in Search of the Picturesque, illustrations by T. Rowlandson, text by W. Combe. Ackermann, London, 1826.

Alberta and Henry Burke on another transatlantic ocean liner voyage.

Ackermann's Repository of Arts, Literature, Commerce, Manufacturers, Fashion and Politics is replete with fabric swatches and wallpaper samples.

 

Northanger Abbey

The works of Humphry Repton - Sketches and Hints on Landscape Gardening (1794); Observations on the Theory and Practice of Landscape Gardening (1805); Designs for the Pavilion at Brighton (1808); and Fragments on the Theory and Practice of Landscape Gardening (1816)

Jane Austen's World
The collection supports exploration and research of the late eighteenth and early nineteenth-century world of Austen, including books and periodicals on architecture, fashion, furniture, interior design, and social customs. 

Goucher College Library, 1021 Dulaney Valley Road, Baltimore, MD 21204 • 410-337-6360 • © 2013-2017 • Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.