Skip to main content

Africana Studies Research Guide

Selected Web Resources

Civil Rights History Project

Oral history collections with relevance to the Civil Rights movement to obtain justice, freedom and equality for African Americans and to record new interviews with people who participated in the struggle. A project by the Library of Congress and the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of African American History and Culture.

 


W.E.B. DuBois Online

The digitized papers of W.E.B. Dubois which are held at the University of Massachusetts Amherst.  The papers include correspondence, essays, lectures, notes, and photographs.

 


 

African American History Month

The Library of Congress, National Archives and Records Administration, National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution and United States Holocaust Memorial Museum join in paying tribute to the generations of African Americans who struggled with adversity to achieve full citizenship in American society.


 

Documenting the American South

Documenting the American South (DocSouth) is a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes sixteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs.

 


 

Historical Publications of the United States Commission on Civil Rights

Since its inception in 1957, the United States Commission on Civil Rights has been at the forefront of efforts by the Federal Government and state governments to examine and resolve issues related to race, ethnicity, religion and, more recently, sexual orientation.  Complete electronic record of the publications held in the Thurgood Marshall Law Library.


 

 

African American Research at the National Archives and Records Administration

African American historical research can be undertaken in both military and civilian records; however, the documentation is scattered through a variety of correspondence of government and private citizens and government reports.


 

 

African American History from the Library of Congress' American Memory

American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning.

 


 

 

Behind the Veil: Documenting African American Life in the Jim Crow South

A selection of 100 recorded oral history interviews chronicling African-American life during the age of legal segregation in the American South, from the 1890s to the 1950s.


Visualizing Emancipation

Visualizing Emancipation organizes documentary evidence about when, where, and how slavery fell apart during the American Civil War. Funded by a We the People grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities, it shows how emancipation occurred unevenly across the South, beginning before the first major battles and ending after the end of the Confederacy.


The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database

This database has information on more than 35,000 slave voyages that forcibly embarked over 12 million Africans for transport to the Americas between the sixteenth and nineteenth centuries. It offers researchers, students and the general public a chance to rediscover the reality of one of the largest forced movements of peoples in world history.


 

Primary Resource Guide

A research guide from University of Washington to primary and secondary sources for     African American History.  Some of these links will not work as they require authentication       through UW's system.  Goucher, however, has access to many of these and can be accessed  by searching for the journal title.


 

Black Press Research Collective

The Black Press Research Collective (BPRC) is the brainchild of a pair of scholars who work on archiving and producing knowledge about the historical and contemporary role of Black newspapers in the United States, African Diaspora and Africa.


 

Primary Resource Guide

A research guide from University of Washington to primary and secondary sources for     African American History.  Some of these links will not work as they require authentication       through UW's system.  Goucher, however, has access to many of these and can be accessed  by searching for the journal title.


 

Umbra: Search African American History

A free digital platform that brings together content documenting African American history and culture in order to enable the creation of new works—research projects, scholarship, curricula, art of all kinds—that illuminate parts of our history that have not been enough broadly accessible.  This is a beta test site so some searches may be unpredictable.

   

Organizations

Baltimore Resources

Goucher College Library, 1021 Dulaney Valley Road, Baltimore, MD 21204 • 410-337-6360 • © 2013-2017 • Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.