Skip to main content

Researching Baltimore

SC&A reading room

About SC&A

Special Collections and Archives

The Goucher College Archives preserves all non-current, historically valuable records generated and received by College offices and employees since the inception of the Woman's College of Baltimore in 1885 (now Goucher College). In accordance with its gift policy, the department welcomes gifts of books and archival material that document the college’s history or support its current and evolving curriculum and research needs.

Students, faculty, and outside researchers are encouraged to explore our unique collections. User guidelines are provided to help researchers prepare for their visit.  The Special Collections and Archives department is located on the fourth level of the Athenaeum, and is generally open to researchers 10 am – 4 pm, Monday through Friday, except for campus holidays. Appointments are recommended. To schedule an appointment or class visit, or to request information about the collections, please contact Special Collections Librarian and College Archivist Tara Olivero (410-337-6347).

finding aids

The Special Collections & Archives department at Goucher is rich in Baltimore-related materials.   Of special interest among the collections listed at http://www.goucher.edu/x37185.xml are: 

  • Estelle Dennis Dance Theatre Collection  Dennis (1909-1996) was an important figure in 20th century dance and taught dance in Baltimore for several decades.  She helped found the Ballet Society of Baltimore and served as its Artistic Director.
  • Hans and Frances Mitchell Froelicher Papers   The Froelichers were both members of the Goucher faculty. Hans was active in many organizations related to general education in Baltimore, including the founding of The Park School of Baltimore.
  •  John Franklin Goucher Papers  In addition to being one of the founders of the Woman’s College of Baltimore (now Goucher College), Goucher was active in Baltimore educational and civic affairs.  He helped found Morgan State University and served on its Board of Trustees for many years.
  • H.L. and Sara Haardt Mencken Collection   H.L. Mencken was a prominent Baltimore newspaper man and writer. The majority of the collection focuses on his relationship with Sara Haardt Mencken, a Goucher graduate and notable writer until her early death in 1935.
  • Clinton Ivan Winslow Papers An outstanding authority on state legislatures and legislative committees as well as Maryland constitutional issues. He wrote numerous articles from the 1920s to the 1970s that appeared in various publications, including The Baltimore Sun, American Political Science Review, and State Government and spoke before innumerable groups in Maryland on topics such as county and city government.    

Goucher College Library, 1021 Dulaney Valley Road, Baltimore, MD 21204 • 410-337-6360 • © 2013-2017 • Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.